Salzburg!


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria
October 6th 2007
Published: October 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

SalzburgSalzburgSalzburg

The Dom, or Cathedral
So for my first overnight adventure I took off for Salzburg, Austria! It was great! I actually had company on the train the majority of the way, but then discovered the city solo. It was a great day on Wednesday: warm and sunny. The hostel I was in was very close to the old city, just across the river!
When I got there I dropped my bag and headed out. I walked around and saw the Dom, or Cathedral, saw Mozartplatz, or the statue of Mozart, then headed up to this old castle on a hill overlooking the whole city. I walked up, so I was a sweaty mess when I got up there. But the entrance fee allowed you to have a free audio-tour of the tower, which provided a great view of all of Salzburg as well as the countryside around it.
For the rest of the day I just walked around, did some window shopping, enjoyed some pastry and chocolate, and found a beautiful park to rest in. It was great.
Yay- I found a vegetarian Indian restaurant for dinner. It was sooo good and I FEASTED. The guy even gave me free power-balls
SalzburgSalzburgSalzburg

The statue of Mozart in Mozartplatz
for dessert. Not exactly sure what that was except chocolate and coconut 😊 And then I crashed.
The next morning came the Sound of Music Tour! It was a 4-hour tour and the soundtrack was playing literally the entire time. It was awesome. We saw the gazebo, the lake where they all fell out into the water, the abbey where Maria was, and got to drive way out in the country to see the lake region. We also saw the Church where the wedding scene was filmed. It was actually raining all during the tour, so it was ok to be on the bus. The tour guide actually started singing at one point- not cool. But it was totally worth it.
After the tour, I met back up with my friend who decided to come into Salzburg and we just had a drink and headed back on the train for Munich. We had a great dinner in Munich and then headed home to Garmisch! So it was a great trip, and I was very proud of myself for going solo. It was a very good experience. And Salzburg was amazing. Not too big, not too small- just right.
SalzburgSalzburgSalzburg

The view of Salzburg
And I got my fill of Do A Deer and Edelweiss 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

SalzburgSalzburg
Salzburg

Me with Salzburg :)
SalzburgSalzburg
Salzburg

Playing with the camera... Salzburg in black and white!
SalzburgSalzburg
Salzburg

What I climbed up to to get all the "Salzburg from above" shots. I was very hot and sweaty- but it was worth it!
SalzburgSalzburg
Salzburg

Cool little shopping street
SalzburgSalzburg
Salzburg

Mozart's house! At 7Euro to get in, I decided a picture was good enough.
SalzburgSalzburg
Salzburg

The river through the city
SalzburgSalzburg
Salzburg

A nice park I relaxed in during the afternoon
SalzburgSalzburg
Salzburg

Playing with the camera again- still in the park
SalzburgSalzburg
Salzburg

Salzburg at night... so pretty!
SalzburgSalzburg
Salzburg

"I am 16 going on 17"... yes, the gazebo!
SalzburgSalzburg
Salzburg

This is the lake where Maria and the kids fell out of the boat! You know- when they meet the Baroness sopping wet? How cool!
SalzburgSalzburg
Salzburg

Maria's Abbey
SalzburgSalzburg
Salzburg

Sweet... pit stop on the tour for some tabogganing!
SalzburgSalzburg
Salzburg

One of the lakes we passed on the tour- the lake region out in the countryside is absolutely beautiful!
SalzburgSalzburg
Salzburg

The Church from the movie where Maria and Captain VonTrapp got married... it's actually smaller in real life.
SalzburgSalzburg
Salzburg

More of the lake region.
SalzburgSalzburg
Salzburg

Better view of the gazebo.


9th October 2007

So I see your photography class paid off! Those are amazing pictures! Everything is so beautiful and I wish I was there to explore with you! :-)
10th October 2007

YAY!
Molly, you look SO happy! I am so glad that you are enjoying yourself and that you have the courage to explore alone. It just taps into that strength you have that will guide you forever. I am very proud of you! Enjoy and continue to soak up your beautiful surroundings!
23rd October 2007

Yay for Mozart and "The Sound of Music"!! I love your pictures...I need to start posting my own. Miss you!!!

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb