Schnapps and high altitude


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria
May 27th 2006
Saved: December 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post




Additional photos below
Photos: 68, Displayed: 22


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom

The ride of my lifeThe ride of my life
The ride of my life

When I said I had "mountain biked" before, my Norwegian friend calmly nodded and said "good". What he didn't say was "good because we're about to tackle a 1600m climb directly up Sportgastein mountain". And I do mean, up! This photo was in the early stages, when my thin veneer of being capable of completing the climb hadn't yet started to crack.
SportgasteinSportgastein
Sportgastein

View from half way up the mountain. I found stoppng to take photos was a good excuse to stop my lungs from exploding all over the beautiful scenery...
SportgasteinSportgastein
Sportgastein

A well deserved rest and an imaginary vomit for me were in order. We had reached the top.
Mountain livingMountain living
Mountain living

I stopped here and tasted buttermilk for the first time. It wasnt the creamy, sweet concoction I had imagined. Sour and sweaty were better descriptors.
A new challengeA new challenge
A new challenge

Climbing 2250m Stubnerkogel - another alpine peak in Bad Gastein.
Conquered!Conquered!
Conquered!

Nearly 3000m - top of Hohe Hafner


Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 18; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb