Enjoying the last of it in Zürs


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vorarlberg » Lech am Arlberg
January 13th 2009
Published: January 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well winter break is almost (regretfully) over with me having approximately 10 days left here in the Austrian Alps! Nothing but skiing, snowboarding and hanging with local friends. It'll be hard going back to Los Angeles and school (ugh) at the end of Jan, I get to deal with the classes from HELL. Since this is my first blog ever I'll throw in a few things about myself as i tell the tale of my winter wonderland vacation!

But first let me give you a taste of the oh so fun classes I get to look forward to!=

1. Molecular Cell Biology
2. Physics A: properties of matter, mechanics, wave motion, and heat
(the fact that its only Physics A indicates that theres a Physics B I get to look forward to in the Fall as well! stellar!)
3. Biostatistics
(as if statistics itself is fun)
4. a random GE
(that i still have no idea what its about even after reading its description in the class manual, which tends to mean its boring and most likely a waste of time)
5. Backpacking
(The one and only class Im actually really looking forward to)

And not to mention all the science classes all have weeky labs i must attend to. So all in all Im technically signed up for 8 classes. Better enjoy these 10 days while i can!!!

To clear up all this confusion as to WHY i would willingly put myself throug such hell, Im a Biology major. BUT with a focus in Zoology. Dream job would be travelling the world helping and conserving wildlife and their environments. And to get to that dream I first gotta deal with all the crap biology classes before I can reach the fun ones (with the actual animals, aka NO CELLS).

But anyway, my winter break so far has been pretty laid back. Arrived here about a month ago from Los Angeles. I caught up with old friends, celebrated Christmas and New Years andd (the highlight of the break so far) I worked as a ski instructor 😊 (Sort of) To technically be an official ski instructor here you gotta take a formal 2 week course that goes way into the whole thing, which i have not yet taken. But luckily i have contacts who are good personal friends with the head of the ski school so he not only gave me a sort of ski intructor internship, but he ensured me employment in the ski school next year. (yes!!) The local ski school here is pretty damn competitive to get hired into since its pretty competitive. The pay is double and more what they pay ski instructors only a couple towns away in St. Anton. So needless to say, im pretty lucky to have those contacts lol

Here is the way my year is planned out so far:


What is all this working for anyways you ask? The one thing I avidly look forward to is to travel around the world, long-term. All this work and saving will go into what i call the "Travel Fund," so when i graduate I'll be financially ready to take on the world and see all the things Im determined to see. Considering I have a journal of places to see thats about as big as a dictionary, I'll be working for quite some time haha. But seeing as I'll be a wrinkly grandma before i earn enough, I also plan on working as i go.

Anyway, if anyone is anywhere in the Arlberg region then hit me up! Im totally up for meeting new people and having a good time 😊

Till then, Aufweidersehn! :D

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb