Greece, Italy, and Austria


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
August 10th 2006
Published: August 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

From Istanbul, where I last wrote, I flew to Athens. My flight was delayed nearly half the day but I did finally get there. In Athens I saw all the major sights in and around the Acropolis, etc. Not much to say about it really. The city is very dirty but still amazing to think of the ancient people walking the same places as I was. I was there for 2 nights before taking a train to Patra on the west coast of Greece. The train ride there was beautiful, right between the water and the mountains. From Patra it was an overnight ferry to Ancona, Italy. In Ancona it was another train to Rome. All in all it was traveling from 6am on day until 6pm the next. Those were two pretty long days.

Rome was absolutely beautiful and I loved it. The people were friendly and the sites very spectacular. I spent 2 nights there as well. The Vatican is absolutely magnificent and I was very excited to see it. The other ancient sights were also very cool. To think, this was the capital of the world for a long, long time. Anyway, from Rome it was a train to Pisa where I took a few pictures and then continued onto Florence. Not very much to see in Florence really. I saw a beautiful sunset from a hill overlooking the city and I saw 2 fake Davids and the beautiful Duomo from the outside. Other than that it was a quick visit, just one night. I enjoyed walking the streets and just seeing the city.

From Florence it was on to Venice. I was excited to go to Venice because I'd heard it's beautiful. Indeed it is beautiful but also very expensive! I stayed there only one night as well but made sure I saw all the major sights including the Grand Canal and San Marco Basilica. From Venice it was on the Vienna where I am now. I arrived last night and saw the city today. It is a beautiful city and the weather is fabulous! If I had more time I would've loved to catch an opera in the famous opera house and maybe see an art museum but I am not all that interested and I have so much more I want to see! So I leave in about an hour and I'm off to..... Well I'm off to somewhere anyway where I'll have lots of fun. I'll be sure to write again soon but being on the road so much it's hard to find time to write. Hope everyone is having as much time reading about what I'm doing as I am having doing it all but I kinda doubt it. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 97, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 59; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb