Day 15


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
July 23rd 2006
Published: July 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today I woke up at 8:15, which is pretty much sleeping in. We did want to get in a few things before our train left this afternoon. After a relaxing, free breakfast in our hotel, we checked out. We made our way to the Museum of Modern Art. The art was...interesting. I don' think I really "got" a lot of the art, like the canvas that was painted completely blue, or the fabric nailed to the canvas, and stuff like that. The museum was interesting enough, but I liked the Leopold Museum better.

After spending some quality time with art in the air-conditioned museum, we made our way back to the hot outdoors to Belvedere, another castle. It was very pretty on the outside, but defintely not as pretty as the Shonbrunn castle. We didn't spend a whole lot of time.

Belvedere is really close to the train station, so we went over there. We had lunch there, and spent the rest of our Euro on snacks for the train. We had to wait a while for the train, but it wasn't too bad. We got on the train and made our way back "home" to Prague.

The
TrainTrainTrain

Falling asleep
train ride was about 4 hours long, and we had a compartment all to ourselves again, which was nice. We slept and sang Spice Girls and talked and avoided creepy European men who walked past our compartment.

All in all, it was a wonderful trip. I feel like we all bonded and got to know each other a lot better. Vienna was such a beautiful city, lots of green space!

I have a few more photo albums to share, one of Prague and the other two are the first day in Vienna. Enjoy!

http://missouri.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2067831&l=33595&id=15901645

http://missouri.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2068032&l=440b6&id=15901645

http://missouri.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2068033&l=4e035&id=15901645

Oh, and I keep forgetting. Like, a week ago I was at a restaurant with a bunch of Czech students and they asked me if I knew what my name meant in Czech. Apparently it means a peasant farmer, but "in a good way."

Oh, and the update of the things I miss from the states:
1. Taco Bell
2. Dr. Pepper
3. Lemonade
4. Air conditioning

Advertisement



24th July 2006

Vienna
Kate, I really enjoyed all your pictures from Prague and Vienna. Keep it up. On your update of things you miss I noticed that good pasta is no longer there. I guess that means the Italian restauranet you ate at in Vienna was pretty good...or maybe it was the red wine. Anyway, keep having fun. Thanks for e-mailing your schedule for the next two weeks. Mom and I appreciate it. We'll try to be home from work by about 4:30 our time tonight (Monday) so hopefully we can talk. Love you! ----- Dad
24th July 2006

name??
Is it Katie that means peasant farmer, or Sedlacek? The first time I read it I thought it said peanut farmer. Somehow, I think that might be more approiate for you.

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb