Goodnight Vienna


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
July 18th 2006
Published: July 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The HofburgThe HofburgThe Hofburg

Spanish Riding School section
Firstly..........sorry about the Ringo reference in the title, but I was getting desperate.

Anyway........my Vienna experience:

I ended my stay here with a movie. Yes……..I know I shouldn’t have been indoors (especially given the lovely weather), but I think the movie added to my experience, and I’d recommend it to anyone visiting this city. The movie was ‘The Third Man’. It was made in post WWII Vienna. It’s a 1949 black and white classic, and the backdrop to the drama that unfolds is a city that is not only divided in four (overseen by the French, Russian, British and United States armies), but also damaged heavily from the bombing that took place.

In contrast…..the city today is in pristine condition. Obviously a lot of effort has been put into restoring buildings to their former glory, and the result is truly impressive. Sure, there’s some tacky 50’s architecture scattered around, but between where I was staying (the 4th District…….less than half an hours walk to the city centre) and the old city centre itself, there were simply stunning buildings to be seen everywhere.

I loved it. Such a great atmosphere

It’s a not a huge city. Again….I
The Hofburg IIThe Hofburg IIThe Hofburg II

Me outside another section. It used to be a popular meeting place until the time of Adolf.
think the compact nature makes it easier for tourists to appreciate (as if that’s why it’s the way it is), but there was plenty to do. So while I initially had thoughts of doing a day-trip outside the city, that didn’t eventuate.

I’m sure it would be very different in Winter, but at the moment the place is over-run with tourists, and the city is alive into the night. As such, I ventured in one night to listen to a bit of Mozart in a free open-air cinema experience outside the Rathaus. It was certainly something special.

Other highlights included the Schloss Schonbrunn and the Liechtenstein Museum (I know I was going to avoid castles…..but I think these are more accurately described as palaces - big difference).

The city fun park was also recommended to me as a place to visit, but I wouldn’t make that recommendation to anyone else. Overall it wasn’t very impressive, but it did contain the Wiener Riesenrad (a large Ferris Wheel built in 1897) that also features in ‘The Third Man’.

I’ve probably eaten a little too much of the Wiener Schnitzel……so hope that Budapest has a few healthy local dishes
The Rathaus - by dayThe Rathaus - by dayThe Rathaus - by day

Where the open-air films/concerts were held
(not likely).

So on my enjoyment scale from 1 to 10, where a 1 equates to Adolf, and 10 equates to Strauss, I would rate my experience with an 8.5



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The Kunsthistor MuseumThe Kunsthistor Museum
The Kunsthistor Museum

There is another (natural history museum) that mirrors this one
Schloss SchonbrunnSchloss Schonbrunn
Schloss Schonbrunn

The palace itself (the Summer House)
Schloss Schonbrunn IISchloss Schonbrunn II
Schloss Schonbrunn II

Fountain and Gloriette within the grounds
Residential BuildingResidential Building
Residential Building

This sort of thing is everywhere


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb