The final countdown


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
October 15th 2012
Published: October 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This is my first entry in the blogosphere (a word with all the charm of herpes), and I am trying to find my voice...I am normally quite a cynical and strident person but thought that after 2 mindfulness courses I should channel the buddha...unfortunately it seems he is also cynical and strident ..

My life changed 6 months ago when I was given an opportunity to view freedom from up close. Although unasked for I have been assured by many that this is a chance of a lifetime to discover who I 'want' to be. This is not really welcome advice as who i want to be is the ostrich i was a year ago however as we have not yet mastered time travel the only possible movement is forward. Strangely enough setting a slightly mad travel goal seems to act as a catapult, the trajectory is relentless, the victims few.

I chose to travel to Africa (I do know it's a continent) as being large and unconventional enough to balance out 13 years of settled downedness (I hate to think where I would have to go after my diamond anniversary breakup). Although I had wanted to go sub-Saharan for years in my own fully kitted out defender, preferably with a man conveniently at my side, I balked at the task of man shopping in my present state and settled instead for an overland expedition. Cheap and possibly cheerful, it has the charm of being fully abandonable if I do not like it...'Commitment shy´is a valid charge but I have already adjusted myself to the lifestyle of the footloose and fancy free and this does seem to be the one true plus...you can be selfish as no one cares enough to be hurt.

In preparation for my adventure I have taken a couple of European city breaks to incubate the travel bug, hence my current location in Vienna. Large city, spread out over kilometers of gently undulating land with a polite and smiling populace who seem eager to engage with visitors. Excellent weather has made this the ideal weekend getaway combined with wonderful friends who have gone out of their way to make me feel welcome. If you come to Vienna there are all the classic tourist offerings: great museums, buildings, cuisine and the like but some of the lesser known attractions really made it for me.

Go to the Wienerwald to walk in the trees and to see the grape growing areas of Vienna (the only city with vineyards within its limits I think) and stop off at one of the wine tasting restaurants to sample excellent local tipple. Add a plate of roasted pig's belly with dumplings and sauerkraut to intensify your localisation. Austrian food is all about comfort, nursery style flavours (except for fresh horseradish) served in generous portions just like granma used to make. Think the classic ingredients, flour, butter, cheese, eggs, milk, pig in dozens of combinations throw in salted and smoked meats for stunning effect.



Today is my last day here and I plan to spend it in pursuit of apple strudel with vanilla sauce and Egon Sciele, my 2 favourite Austrian discoveries.



Prost!

Advertisement



14th November 2012

Fantastic!!!!! God's blessings for a safe journey my sister friend!
Love it! Wish I were there with you to celebrate life! Lots of love and God speed!
22nd November 2012

Hey honey
Thinking of you everyday. Lots of love and strength. xxx your sister friend R

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb