the island is calling...


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
May 22nd 2006
Published: May 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After settling down for a good nights sleep last night, fresh bread rolls in 1 hand and a carton of the famous Apple Juice in the other, in walk 2 Sydney girls, backpacks on there back and they remind me of a certain somebody from the movie Legally Blounde. I straight away knew that my desired night of rest before venturing to Austria the next morning would not entail as expected, yep, 35minutes later I was being dragged of my bed by the legs and we where on our way to a party spot I hadn't heard of, The Island.

Budapest is seperated by a body of water with the famous bridges linking both sides up. In the middle how ever there is a small island, and this island turns into a huge party by night. What goes on at partys is pretty much self explanitory so without going any further I stumbled into bed after catching a cab back at around 6am with the view of catching a bus to Vienna come midday. After 4 hours of nail biting sleep and snoring coming from all directions in the dorm I got up, to face a new day of travelling. I got a good clean run accross town to the Int. Bus station, secured a window seat and wallah, I'm a happy chappy.

4 hours later arriving in Vienna aka Wein it was a beatiful sight to see a country that is modernised again. This place actually has English speaking people in it. This place actually has shopping malls... wow, I'm back at home again! The funny thing I noticed here is that smoking is a huge part of the daily life. If you dont smoke, your not a mans man. Billboards and cigerette advertising is like I imagine it back in the 1950's. Big, cowboy looking men inhaling the local favourite with a catchy slogan something a long the lines of 'Chilled, Laid Back.... Sky Blue Cigarettes'. They sell ciggys on street vendors here like you would buy a coke. A kid no older than 12 casually went up and bought his 'daily stash'.

As I arrived quite late obviously there wasn't much time to do any touristy stuff so after walking up and down the main strip I retired back to the hostel for a cosy sleep in my 20 man dorm. The snoring came from every direction yet again....




Advertisement



26th May 2006

Q&A with Mark Bryant aka 'The Whole Hair Due'
abuuut 10 pounds which is abuuuut 23 dollers, not much, but as annoying as getting a mossie bite in the bum cheek.

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb