One Night in Vienna


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
September 11th 2005
Published: January 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

On the way to Vienna from Budapest, I admit that I had a little cry at the thought of leaving David. It was all Michael Bolton's fault ... his song "How Am I Supposed to Live Without You?" came on and I couldn't help myself. Thankfully, David was asleep in another row of seats and didn't see me!

We arrived in Vienna around 3:30 and went searching for a bank machine, then headed back to the hostel, Wombat's, for a little nap. I went down to the bar to tell Mel (a nice, 35-year-old Aussie woman) that I'd changed my mind about going to an opera with her (which we'd planned to do the night before in Budapest). She looked at me like I was an idiot, and I realized I was an idiot if I didn't go to a Viennese opera! So we got dolled up and away we went. The Opera House wasn't much bigger than Ottawa's theatre (nicer, though, obviously). We only had to pay 3 euros for tickets, which was a nice surprise. The opera turned out to not be an opera, after all, but a ballet (some sort of story involving a Spanish matador possibly getting arrested for breaking immigration laws, possibly in Norway). It was pretty good, and fun to try to interpret what was happening. We stopped along the main boulevard and had a great dinner (salad, fantastic spaghetti bolognese and wine). Vienna didn't disappoint the earlier impression I had of it being a city full of music: even the buskers were playing classical music! A guy named Becki, a Viennese guy whom Mel had met the last time she was in the city, joined us, and his waiter friends sent over a few drinks for us. We had such a great night! Becki drove me back to the hostel and I headed to the bar. Suzie was there, which was a nice surprise, and David was sitting with a girl we'd met in Budapest. I was getting crazy jealous AGAIN, after all that's happened between us I still can't just relax!! I left around 1:00, and when David finally came in I told him I'd been jealous (I think he's pretty sick of hearing about it). Tomorrow: Salzburg!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.368s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb