EuroTrip Day 45 (Budapest Day 5/Vienna Day 1)


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
July 22nd 2008
Published: July 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Oh man, did I have a great time last night. This morning how ever, was time to pay for it. Although I wasn't hungover, I was pretty damn tired. After going to bed at 5 or so, I had to wake up at 9 to shower, pack, and get going to catch my train. Everyone in the room seemed to wake up in a daze and kept making jokes about turtle haha. I know it's an inside joke, but it's pretty damn funny if you think about even if you weren't there.

After showering, packing, etc. I said goodbyes to the girls and guys. I also had to say goodbye to Olga, the coolest hostel owner EVER. At this point I was out of forints (Hungarian currency), so I set off to look for any place that accepted cards. I didnt' want to pull out 2000 forints for a meal that was going to cost me 100 or 200 forints or whatever. I told myself before this trip I wasn't going to eat American food much, but I was relegated to eating Burger King. Meh, I guess after not having it for so long, a little taste of home wasn't too bad.

From there, I headed to the train station and caught my train to Vienna. The train ride was quite uneventful. Luckily, it had a power slot for my laptop so I just caught up on blogs (yes, I know I'm still quite behind.....sue me), listened to music, watched a movie, etc.

When I arrived in Vienna, I remembered I hadn't written down the directions to the hostel. Crap. How the hell am I going to find it?!?! At first I was going to search for an internet spot, but it just so happens that right outside the Westbanhoff station, I saw a map that just HAPPEN to designate Hostel Ruthensteiner on it. This was quite the stroke of luck, as it was the only place designated on there.

I meandered my way over and checked in. Oh man, that bed looked so inviting after the little sleep I got. However, I pushed myself to do some sight seeing. By the time I got some food, most (if not all) the sights were closed, so I decided I would just take an introductory walk of the city. After walking 2 miles the wrong way, I turned around and headed towards the town center haha. Normally, I'm really good with directions, but the lack of sleep got to me I guess.

I strolled down Mariahilfer Strasse, a main street over there for a while stopping by at the Maria Hulf Church. I also went by the National Gallery, Natural History Museum, Hofburg Palace, National Bibliothek, Heroes, Square, and some other major tourist sights. I also checked out Kartner Strasse. It's one of their main pedestrian streets lined with restaurants, shops, street performers, etc. Like I mentioned before, unfortunately, many of the sites were closed so I couldn't go in. I figured I now had a bearing of where to go tomorrow. Also, since it was starting to get dark, I headed back to the hostel.

A small observation that I found quite entertaining. I grabbed a hotdog (certain type that I can't remember the name) and saw that the bread on their hot dogs, completely covers the sausage. I thought that was an ingenious idea. Not only do you get the mustard and ketchup on all sides, but it prevents it from getting really messy. It was kind of funny to see that.

Anyways, since I hadn't slept much the night before, I chose to take it easy. Also, most of the people in the room were already sleeping, so I wasn't coaxed, coerced into pushing myself for another night of partying..... not that it would've taken all that much haha. After emailing and IM'ing friends, I just went to bed. Tomorrow, I'll take over Vienna for sure!


Additional photos below
Photos: 124, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



1st August 2008

Rrrright! Blame it on lack of sleep. Haha..... When I was in Ireland my friend said she was GREAT with directions. We took a 45 min 'detour'. 3 hour tour.... 3 hour tour.... LMAO!!!

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 9; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0656s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb