Uru-What?


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
April 11th 2008
Published: April 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, well - decisions need their time ... but what happened up to now is, that a new country for starting the journey has come to my mind. According to my Excel-sheet it was surprisingly Uruguay. Uruguay? I never thought of this country in detail before ... but, it has a few advantages:

1.) the political-situation is stable at the moment
2.) there are no too high health-risks
3.) the climate is mild, almoust the same as in Austria (except, that there's no winter with snow)
4.) English is a known and understood/spoken foreign-language there
5.) there's no need, to have an return-ticket, when entering the country

So according to this, the country wold be a good choice to start. Now, let's wait for the climate-tables to see, if it is a good idea to start there. Nevertheless, it would be quite charming to do so, because not far away (about 200 km) from the capital of Uruguay (Montevideo - I knew that name before, but didn't know, that it belongs to Uruguay anyway) there's Buenos Aires, the capital of Argentina. And there a friend of mine lives, so it would be quite a good thing to continue from Uruguay to Argentina, because I have some "support" there.

Continuing this thought a possible route could be: From Uruguay to Buenos Aires, than to the south, maybe including the Falkland-Islands. Afterwards going to Chile heading north (maybe including the Easter-Islands (Rapa Nui)), leading to Bolivia/Paraguay and afterwards to Peru and Ecuador (maybe including the Galapagos-Islands) and finally to Venezuela. Well that would be quite a "big" journey and no one knows, if I really will do so, but it's worth a thought and you never know ...

Attentive readers of my blog (and the Excel ;-) might have recognized, that the Excel-sheet consists of more, than "only" South-America. Yes, that's true and it is on purpose! Because, when I was thinking about the journey and looked at a map and finally arrived in Venezuela, I thought: "Well if you really did do so and you still like travelling around, why not continue with Middle-America? When will you ever be that close to it?". So it's not impossible, that I really continue my journey, heading further north like Panama, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Honduras, El Salvador, Guatemala, Belize and parts of South-Mexico. And at this point I thought: "Well damn it! When I'm already thinking about that, why not including the Caribbean?". Yes, why not? Thoughts are free and dreams have to be great, that's why they are called dreams! So I added some of the Caribbean Islands too, like Jamaika, Cuba, Puerto Rico, Haiti, Bahamas and so on. I even found an Island called "St. Martin". Well, it has nothing to do with my first-name, but I really need to see this Island, when I'm really going to the Caribbean! ;-)

Well, that's how my thought's have developed up to now ... and I'm still at the same point I've been last week: I need to check the climate-tables, to find out, what's the best time to go whereto in South-America. But, not today, because today I'm busy with other things (like I was the day before and the day before :-), for example I'm going to meet some interesting guys, who have returned from a world-journey recently - by the way it is quite a "funny" story, how I met them ... but that's another story ...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb