Wonderfulness in Wien


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
January 7th 2008
Published: January 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After we went to Morocco we headed out for Vienna via Frankfurt. We found out the night before we flew out that the airport we were flying into was actually 70 km outside of Frankfurt. That was a bummer to learn, however, it saved us money since we ended up staying the night in the train station. Which I have to add was not to shabby since there we stayed in the Banhoff Mission which served tea and gave a warm place for people to stay while waiting for their trains.



Katie and I were able to ride in this high speed train from Frankfurt to Vienna. Their second class was like riding in first class from Nottingham to London. The ride took only about 7 hours and I think I slept for almost 5-6 hours of it. I mean I got on the plan and pretty much passed out. Oh we had a little moment of panic. I tried calling Jackie about 10 times and it would just not work. I was getting a little nervous that we wouldnt be able to meet up with her. But it all worked out fine and she met us at the train station. I can not explain how great it felt to see someone from home. I didnt think it would hit me that hard. Well I had a wonderful time with Jackie. We went to German class with her and couldnt understand a single thing that was going on but it was fun anyway. Oh and Katie and I had schnitzel (I dont think this is correct at all but is as close as I am going to get) By the way it was amazing to be eating meat, it was the first time in almost two weeks since we had meat. We also got to stay in Jackies dorm which was an experience since Katie and I shared a single size bed for three nights. I found it funny because Katie moves her mouth and makes this noise like she is chewing gum. It was super loud and funny. One night she even rolled over and knocked me in the nose. Anyway, Jackie showed us around Vienna which was another interesting place to visit. We saw the Gasometer which is in fact three buildings built during the time Vienna was holding the World Fair. The buildings were built to showcase advanced architecture and all three are circular and ginormous. From the Gasometer we headed to a cathedral (cant remember the name) as soon as we walked in I could tell it was a Catholic cathedral, where Jackie informed us that Austria is predominately Catholic whereas Germany is mostly protestant. We even got to tour the catacombs. This was super cool and mom I thought of you while I was down there because I know you find that spooky stuff interesting : ) Anyway the guide explained that the last monarchy of Austria, Hasbergs, were buried there along with numerous bishops. I even learned that the catacombs were once used to bury bodies during the plague and over 11,000 bodies are buried there. That evening Jackie and her friends James and Emily all took us to this wine house in a tiny little town outside Vienna. I found out I really like the Riesling wine and the best part is that I was able to have about 4 glasses of wine for about 5 euro. And it was actually all really good wine. And I realized too much wine and running equals bad news for the streets of Vienna. I also enjoyed homemade food one day when Jackie and Emily made us chunky potato soup, which tasted amazing. Then we later went to a restaurant called the Centimeter where we had the opportunity to have more schitzel and a litre of beer. It was crazy the beer was bigger than my face. It was funny to watch as the four of us drink these gigantic beers. Oh we also went and saw the Council House which was super cool because the windows were decorated as an advent calender. It made me happy to see something that resembled Christmas.




Advertisement



23rd February 2008

i do not make funny noises when i sleep!

Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb