Winter 2007/08 - Trials and Tribulations


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Tyrol » Sankt Johann in Tirol
January 21st 2008
Published: January 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Finally she gets round to writing!

It's been a long time coming and as I now have two weeks to kill sans lift pass so can't even attempt to ski! Rubbish I know but first perhaps I should go back a little.

After a big build up to the season of me checking the snow reports in Mayrhofen at work (sorry Rach!) I arrived in Austria, well technically Germany as I actually landed in München on the 6th Dec. Cue a few hours later and on arrival in the Sidan - my hotel from last year - I got as far as the bar and proceeded to take 4 hours before I got past it. Only a few schnapps though so nothing too evil! So I'm thinking, great to be back can't wait gonna be an awesome season.

Next day I'm off to office and within about 10 minutes I hear, 'so this is how the season is gonna go...'. Uh oh, can't be good and I got told I'd do 2 weeks in Mayrhofen then off to St Johann. Gutted is not the word. So of course I head back, stunned to Mayhofen to tell them actually, no I won't be spending the season here. But I thought, ok make the most of the 2 weeks you've got and enjoy. So I attempted to ski a fair bit, had a few insurance brushes as always and of course had to show my face in Schlüssel. It would be rude not too! Actually did not spend much time in the Yeti Bar at all.

Christmas Eve was spent in the bar from around 3pm and I must say I was definitely in the Christmas spirit!! As the photos indicate. I think we managed to stay up till about 10pm then had to crash as we were way too drunk. But a quality day. Unfortunately Christmas Day I was most hungover but had to pack. Distinctly unimpressed.

Boxing day was moving day. Lugged my suitcase which really had only intended to pack once the whole season across on trains etc (least it was only 23kg or so!) Arrived in resort on a major low and had to explain to 2 teachers how everything worked! All v well and good but no idea myself! Sharp learning curve I'll tell you. So after a 'friendly' welcome I got to work. First group arrived on the saturday and I got to learning how things were going to work for the season. Rocky is what I will say diplomatially. About a week later and tears galore, I nearly walked but got persuaded otherwise and that things would change. Needed to give myself a bit of a motivational talk. Luckily I'd met some of the other reps in resort otherwise I would never have lasted this long! But they do make me feel old... worked out last night that I left secondary school the same year some of them left primary school! Argh, talk about an age complex. Still they're a good laugh and I've had a few pass out on the sofa nights. Less schnapps here than in the Ziller Valley though. Perhaps a good thing?

It's a fairly anglicised resort compared to the ones I've been in previously, which from a language point of view is pretty frustrating. At the moment it's a lot of existing as opposed to enjoying and I'm waiting for that big shift to happen. Maybe it won't and maybe I just need to accept that coming back was the wrong thing to do. Who knows, but we'll see how it all pans out!

In the meantime, better just enjoy the holidays!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0625s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb