GUTEN TAG!


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Styria » Graz
March 28th 2010
Published: March 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well hello again! I am back with another instalment of my travels around l'europe! AND I have worked out how the keyboard works (mainly).
So i'm now in Graz but let me tell you what I have been doing since my last blog! Well Thursday night there was a tequila slammer party but I had a 20% off shooters voucher so I tried the UNDERTAKER! The barman was very impressed and so were two aussie's watching me. It was verrrry strong though, and I have no idea what the actual ingredients were HA.
Frideee I got talking to a girl from Dorset whos name I can't remember...whoops! We walked into town and had a drink at a lovely pub and we chatted and people watched 😊 She was in Slovenia as for her final dissertation at uni she is doing a comparison between bee keeping methods in the UK and in Slovenia...I thought she was joking when she first said it lol. But no! She'd even met the President of the Slovenian Bee Keeping Society...so I was rather jealous/impressed by that ;P She even paid for my drink bless her! Later in the day I went on a short tour of the Hostel and it was actually really interesting! The receptionist who showed me around was really fun and yeh 😊 I left the hostel at around 4 to find Hostel Aladin after talking to the Dutch guy I met the night before who was attempting to hitch hike to Turkey...good luck to him! :D
So it took an hour of walking with my mahoosive backpack on my back and my rucksack on my front (is there actually a difference...no idea XD) to reach Aladin. And once I arrived, I couldn't work out how to get in! I knocked on loads of doors and even walked into a suprised hairdresser's before the owner of Aladin drove past (luckyy!) and let me in 😊 It was so quiet though! The whole time I was there I saw 3 guests! A quiet Macedonian guy, a legendary canadian guy and a nice Slovenian girl. But I mean wahhh!?! It was still good thoguh. Later I walked down to the only pub in the area, EN and drank a malibu and coke. The pub was SO nice! I sat outside where there were cushions and blankets..LAAAVELY! But it cost €4 so I went back to the hostel after the one drink :P POOR TRAVELLER.COM
Yesterday was spent in Maribor which is Slovenia's "2nd city". It was gorgeous and everyone was so friendly! The hostel was called Lollipop, how cute lol? I was so glad that it only took me 10 minutes to walk and not an hour like before. It was in a residential street and the room I stayed in was really big, light and clean 😊 The owner, June was from the UK and was really helpful. I went for a walk around and sat by the river drava eating kremsnita (probably spelled completely differently to that 😊 which is a yummy traditional Slovenian cream cake) Back at the hostel, June told me I was the only person booked to stay tonight so I was like :/ I THOUGHT HOSTELS WERE SUPPOSED TO BE BUSY! Well anyway, 3 english guys turned up later but went straight to bed-BOOO! So me and June went out around the bars and it was funnyy! Drank various drinks but my absloute favourite was one which the barmaid explained to me was a drink celebrating how stupid Czech people are. So it is served in a jam jar and has some old spirit in that no one drinks. I didn't get a picture though 😞 I started walking back at around midnight but got lost..again lol. But honestly, my map reading skills are definitely improving! But a lovely couple drove me back to the hostel. I offered to pay them petrol money but they just laughed at me :,)
So now i'm in Graz! Was supposed to get the train here but they're doing repair work so I had to get a bus which was nice! Seeing the Alps coming into view was beautifull! So far i'm loving the city but the people are a bit...well...you know. But I just got a free upgrade at the hostel! WAHEYYY. You just have to ask eh 😉
Love,
Lee-Anne x




Advertisement



29th March 2010

hello
good morning anna, hope this finds you well? Just got to work, have a great day, take care xXx
30th March 2010

:D
Ahh I love you! Sounds like you are having a rather good time so you just keep doing that yeh? xxxxx
30th March 2010

Hello!!
Wow lee once again you sound like your having a fantastic time and its very lucky you keep meeting nice people seeing as your getting lost a lot lol. still looking forward to all the pictures! have fun loves you xxxxxxx

Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb