Day 11-Always carry cash!


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Salzburg » Salzburg
September 29th 2009
Published: November 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 11 (Tuesday, September 29, 2009)

I met with Britt around 10am Tuesday morning. Britt is another American student of Vlatkovic’s but she has lived in Europe for several years now. She had been extremely helpful through emails before I arrived in Salzburg and she had offered to show me around school and help me figure everything out. After I met with her I had to go to the bank to pay tuition. I needed to do this ASAP because then I would have to wait several days for the money to go through before I would be in the system and be able to register for classes. It would also be when I could finally get the letter that I needed in order to complete my residence permit application, my student bank account, and allow me to get a SIM card for my phone with student rates. This form is very important as you can see. Until then….

Later that day I decided I needed to finally do some grocery shopping. There are several grocery stores within walking distance of my dorm. I decided to give Bio Mart a try. I guess it is the equivalent of a Whole Foods for us. It was kind of small and pretty pricey so I just bought a few things, dropped them off at my room, and then headed to a different store. I decided to try Merker this time. Merker is just your average grocery store. I spent a lot of time there trying to translate labels but I got what I needed and headed to the register. The lady started ringing up my stuff when I realized they only accept two types of credit card, neither of them being the one I had. Then I realized I didn’t have any cash. Fail. No groceries for me. She was not happy but neither was I. I guess I would just have to eat out for dinner. Oh darn! 😉 I have now learned to make sure I always have cash with me.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb