Klagenfurt


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Carinthia » Klagenfurt
September 12th 2012
Published: September 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Wow! I can't believe I am finally here.

In June I travelled with the UNM volleyball team to Italy and Slovenia on tour and was introduced to the Klagenfurt team towards the end of our trip. I got to meet the coaches and the team, and played with them against the Lobos (which was rough!). I was so incredibly forturnate to have been offered a contract to play with them this year.

I spent the summer working and training, biding my friends and family farewell, and road-tripping from New Mexico to North Carolina with my mom. After spending a few funfilled days in Chicago, I left for Europe on August 30th. I got to meet my roommate Whitney in Chicago before we made the long trip to our new home.

I flew into Ljubljana, capital of Slovenia, which is only an hours drive away from Klagenfurt. After two days of training and settling into our apartments, the team travelled to Maribor, Slovenia for a training camp.

Now we are back in Klagenfurt and I have finally had some time to explore the city. It is much bigger than I expected. I love the city center... so much
The LindwurmThe LindwurmThe Lindwurm

This statue rests in the main Platz in Klagenfurt's city center. It was built in 1590... The story goes that this prehistoric insidious water "Lindwurm" lived in the swamps, before human beings came to settle the region. The Lindwurm was troublesome because it was killing human beings and livestock, and was eventually slain by a giant (or knight depending on the era). The dragon's swamps were finally drained, and the town of Klagenfurt was founded.
history, so much life, so much positive energy. The buildings are painted in colorful pastels, flowers adorn the streets and windowsills, and locals enjoy a kaffee or eis (coffee or ice-cream) in the outdoor patio seating as we are blessed with a few more summer days.

Since I have been here for over a week already, I have lots of pictures to post and adventures to share, so bear with me as I try to catch up on my blogging, which will soon include accounts of our quick trip to the Croatian Seaside and the Maribor training camp.

Love to all my friends and family! Please, please keep me posted on your lives at home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

I love all the windows and doorsI love all the windows and doors
I love all the windows and doors

I am starting an art project... A new hobby I've adopted since I arrived is photographing all the beautiful windows and doors in Klagenfurt. I hope to make a creative compilation to share with you all soon


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb