Thursday 25th August – Albania


Advertisement
Albania's flag
Europe » Albania » West » Tirana
August 25th 2011
Published: September 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

For Aunty Margareth... Steve and Cheeselington having a snooze on the bus... with the curtain!
This morning we were up at 6.15am so we could clean our boat before leaving (we had to have inspections)... problem was we were such a great team that we had the boat finished and emptied in 45 minutes... I stood guard of our luggage because our friends (the 'town dogs'😉 may have tried to steal something!
After packing up we drove to Tirana, Albania. It is crazy to come from such a pleasant, rich place (Plataria, Greece) to this incredibly poor country. We stopped at a shopping mall and I was not feeling so well. Steve told me I would be ok and I wondered if I had just been sitting funny on the bus... 5 minutes after getting back on the bus I was vomitting into a rubbish bag... not very nice but it had to be done!... I can see all your brains ticking over now... No, I am not pregnant!
When we arrived in Tirana we picked up a tour guide and he talked his way around the city. Everyone got off to see a Mosque but I stayed on the bus (turned out to be a good decision because the guide talked for ages outside the
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

Our 'Italian Stallion' tour guide
Mosque in the hot 38 degree sun!
We arrived at our accommodation in Tirana, a 5 star hotel where we had our own apartments, we shared our apartment with Tim and Carla... I reckon the apartment was as big as our house if not bigger! As soon as we walked in I conked out on the bed for an hour and a half then had a quick show (I spent most of the time washing my hair over again then conditioning it because of all the salt water damage!!!) We went to the restaurant for dinner and then some people went into town and others hung at the bar then went to bed on time.
All in all a boring day really!
Xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

Inside the mosque
Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

Our lounge area in our apartment.


Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0263s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb