Canopytower at pipeline-road discovery center


Advertisement
Published: June 24th 2017
Edit Blog Post

FHD0166FHD0166FHD0166

My friend and roommate Hugo and I
Tonight, Hugo and I got up at 4 am to go to the canopy tower near pipeline-road. First highlight was a spectacled owl (Pulsatrix perspicillata). Hugo was very happy to see that one.

Arriving inside the jungle, we first went to a spot where we expected the fer-de-lance (Bothrops asper, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bothrops_asper). And there it was! One of the most dangerous snakes in Central America. It was calmly crossing the path we were on. Halfway through, it saw us and went into its S-coiled defensive display. Of course, we kept our distance, but to be honest, I don’t feel very intimidated by snakes that size (about 60 cm). I still don’t want to test being bitten, seriously.
Ok, after we checked two animals from the Top-3 of Hugo´s list (I really wanted to see a fer-de-lance as well, don’t get me wrong here), we went up the canopy tower. The sun was rising, and the forest started to steam like a hot-water bath. You could call them cloud-machines. While the sun was rising, the howler-monkeys played their “song”.
Throughout the next hours, I saw three species of toucans: Chestnut-mandibled Toucan (Ramphastos swainsonii), Keel-billed Toucan (Ramphastos sulfuratus), and Collared Aracari (Pteroglossus torquatus) - and many other birds I can´t really remember ?
Near the discovery-center, they put some hummingbird-feeders. We sat next to it and I realised, why they are called hummingbird ? They are beautiful and very competitive. They keep attacking each other to have all the food for themselves. I saw four different species: Violet-bellied Hummingbird (Damophila Julie), Rufous-tailed Hummingbird (Amazilia tzacatl), Blue-chested Hummingbird (Amazilia amabilis) and the Long-billed Hermit (Phaethornis longirostris).
As a last highlight, a Coati (Nasua sp.) crossed the street in front of me ? it was very fluffy :D

The whole experience was great and it is amazing, how many new animals I can find every day being here in Panama <3


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

FHD0163FHD0163
FHD0163

Collared Aracari, taken with 170° wide-angle actioncam (EKEN) through a 8x25 binocoluar.
IMG_2548 Bothrops asperIMG_2548 Bothrops asper
IMG_2548 Bothrops asper

Fer-de-Lance - Bothrops asper


Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0672s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb