Maximo Nivel Costa Rica


Advertisement
Published: May 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well, my first entry is about my first stop. I began my travels in Costa Rica 2 months ago in March. The adventure began with my first volunteer project through an organization called Maximo Nivel. This is Spanish for "maximum level." I should state from the beginning that I speak Spanish fluently (okay, very advanced not fluent). I studied Spanish in school and at college, but I digress...

Okay, so, volunteering is great. Yes, I paid to volunteer. I think the price was right, that means cheap (comparatively). I worked in a slum area called Tibes for 2 months, doing construction work and teaching English to the children.

Kids! Very cool! If I loved the construction, then teaching English was 10x better. No doubt my Spanish helped me. These kids essentially have nothing and I mean nothing. So, when you see a kid's eyes open wide, smile, and roll off with a correct answer in a language that was totally foreign to that person just 20 minutes earlier, there's just nothing better.

I've done light construction since I was like 14 years old, so it was really good to be building something with cement block for these people and their church as opposed to hanging drywall in a luxury home. The project was run by Jorge who is like a foreman for Maximo Nivel's construction projects. Jorge was with us most of the time, though he was obviously running other construction projects at other places too (I think other sites where Maximo works). I can't say enough about this.. not always the most organized, but always moving forward; and Maximo Nivel sponsors all the building materials for the construction.

Costa Rica is warm. I thought it would be hotter. If you've ever been to New Orleans in the summer, then Costa Rica (San Jose anyway) is easy. The coast is a different story where it's definitely hard heat; but San Jose, because of its altitude was spring like most of the time, though the sun could get pretty strong mid-day.

So... Costa Rica really good, Maximo Nivel really good, first part of my travels excellent. I'll keep writing, if someone keeps reading.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0649s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb