Ganada, Nicaragua,


Advertisement
Central America Caribbean
August 30th 2010
Published: September 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Granada, Not much to say about it to be honest, as everyone who comes to Nicaragua does it, so if you're just looking for travel tips, I'm sure there's someone better qualified for it than me.

As for me folks back home:

After my rant about not liking Leon all that much, I have to admit that I am rather embarrassed to admit the following…I really liked Granada.

Most people that I have met who have been there, tend to say the same things that I was previously saying about Leon. Yet, I didn’t see any of the sell out tourism that was plainly on show in front of my eyes!

I think that you have to bear in mind that I’d just spent the last six weeks ish, (I think???) living in a hut and walking through cow shit on my way to school every day, or walking through an over flowing estuary to get to the other side, whilst dodging “stuff” in the water and holding my nose due to the stench!

The bus ride from Chinandega was easy, managed to get off the bus just at the right spot in the centre and found a really nice, family owned hospedaje. Own room with wi-fi and a fan, magic.
Spent a few days just walking around the city at day and night, felt totally safe, and we even managed to do a karaoke event one evening that went really well. Didn’t have Patrick there to back me up, but did myself proud.

What amazed me about Granda, was the open spaces within the city. My biggest pet at about cities is that they’re just too frickin big, but this place was just right.
Well tourist time over, I left, taking a bus to Rivas, and for the life of me I can't remember what i did there, where I stayed or anything. I can remember the bus station and that's about it. After a night there, I'm pretty sure I left the next day, and took a two buck chicken bus to the border with Costa Rica, and then a bus to San Jose, one night in San Jose and on to Panama, which is where I'll start my next entry from.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.452s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb