It was so nice to use a dryer after doing the wash


Advertisement
Central America Caribbean
August 31st 2010
Published: August 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, the washing machine is still broken on campus so I had to go to another classmate's place to do my laundry. It was really refreshing to take my clothes from the wash and put them in a dryer, rather than hanging them on some dirty clothesline to "dry" in the dust and rain. (Yeah, it doesn't make any sense to me either)

I taught my first solo lesson last night and I feel like it was pretty average. I had some material issues and time management problems, but I worked through it. It just wasn't up to the level of performance that I expect from myself in front of a classroom. Old habits die hard sometimes, and I am still getting used to adapting my style and skills to a second language environment. But I'll get there. I know that I can do this and do it well.

It's been hot the past couple of days without rain. I did see a spectacular lightning show last night over the bay in Manuel Antonio while I drank some beer and waited for my clothes to finish. This place is just amazing. It may not have all the conveniences of the states but it makes up for that in spades with the scenery, the people, and the incomprehensible amount of wildlife around. I love it!

I really need to find a job so that I can get back down here after graduation. I'm looking right now, but it's not easy with an entire class of students all applying for the same stuff. Regardless, I feel like this is where I want to be for the foreseeable future. If it works out that way I'll be a happy X.

(no pics today sorry)

TTFN

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb