"Are you going out"


Advertisement
Published: August 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Woke up this morning and showered before heading down to breakfast. While drying off my room phone began to ring -- it was a few minutes past nine and only one guess as to who it could be.
I didn't bother to answer seeing as how I'd be down there in the next few minutes. The phone rang for about a minute -- and then I heard the phone start ringing in Keiths room...

Get downstairs and sit down, the food is brought out shortly thereafter.
The bugs are particularly bad today, and we are getting savagely attacked. We pick up everything and move to the table out on the front porch. Less bugs (hopefully) and a change of scenery.

Head back upstairs to lounge around while Keith gets ready for the day. Which also happens to include shaving his own head and leaving a sweet patch of hair he can't reach...he wonders if I'll notice it. He walks in my room and immediately I ask him what's the deal with that weird patch of hair...and reccomend that I shave it before we leave the compound.

Finish up shaving his head, and then walk over to the ATM.
Then to the bookstore, I can't stand being without something to read. The store is small but their selection is FANTASTIC. I don't think I've ever come across so many books that I'd like to read. I eventually settle on one book. We do a bit of gift shopping, and then decide to grab lunch at WENDY'S.

Leave it to the two IDP kids to find the only Wendy's in Kingston!

A number two combo, with my burger just the way I like it (minus Mustard, because they don't really have that here). They even have Heinz ketchup -- WHICH MAKES KEITH EXCEPTIONALLY HAPPY!! He gets extra helpings of ketchup, and I'm sure he restrains himself from downing them like shots.
It looks like a Wendys back home. It tates exactly like Wendys back home. They even have news from back home on (CNN).

We head back home, and try to call a taxi to take us to the Bob Marley Museum. Which ends up being a little problematic...
I did not top-up my cell phone before the end of July which means I don't have any money/minutes for outgoing calls on my phone. The phone allows you to dial out, it rings and then as soon as the person picks up it disconnects.
Keith repeately calls the taxi company, and essentially keeps hanging up on them. He then tells me whats going on, so then I start calling and basically hanging up on them...

I then put two and two together...
So it probably seems like we just keep crank calling the only reliable taxi company in Jamaica...not exactly the people you want to piss off.
We get the guesthouse to call for us.

The taxi arrives and we get dropped off at the Bob Marley Museum.
Entrance fees: $20 US for adults; $500 Jamaican for residents (7 US).
No cameras are allowed inside of the house and they make this VERY VERY VERY clear, and incase you were still confused, they explain it to you again.
It's an hour tour of his house and grounds, as well as a 20 minute movie. And of course a gift shop.

Keith and I discuss our thoughts on Bob Marley as we leave the Museum.
Keith says that he has "a lot more respect for him after seeing that"..."RESPECT"...I repeate. We both laugh. No pun intended.
We walk back home.

Drink about a gallon of water, we are both dehydrated from being outside and walking around most of the day.

Sit on the front porch and start reading my new book.

We walk to the market to buy snacks and food for dinner.
Come home.

This is our last full Saturday in Jamaica.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.411s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb