Diving update....


Advertisement
Central America Caribbean
December 8th 2005
Published: December 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well at the risk of sounding repetitive (for those who get Jords and Jason's email) I will give an update on scuba diving. I was a little more nervous than the others with the whole under water thing, especially when it came to taking off my mask, or letting water into the mask. For one reason or another my brain thought that I was breathing through my nose and not through my mouth. In any case, on our first day out in the ocean 6m down, the instructor thought that it would be best for me not to take off the mask as I had been going to the surface all previous times. At 6m down, if you shoot up to the surface, well, it probably won't be good. In any case, teh next day she took me off the dock to practice swimming without a mask, and clearing a mask, so in the end it all worked out. Although 6m down and filling my mask I still tried to breathe through my nose for some reason which made Jen (the instructor) a little nervous. The diving was incredible and I look forward to my next diving adventure. It was hard to leave Utila, and now that Jordan mentioned it, it would have been cool to stay there another month do become a dive master. I'll even miss the rat that died in our shower two days before we left. Not really sure how it died, cause I thought rats were invinsible, but Jord and I think that it was either a spider or the ants.....so many ants everywhere...

I am looking into possibly doing some work near Granada that involves diving....have to see if it costs money and what exactly it entails though, but I figure if I can get some free dives out of it, it should be pretty cool.

Our hostel right now is basically like a 5 star hotel for 6 dollars a night. Clean, big, nice, and hell it even has a pool. Of course there is 12 people to a room, but that's not a big deal. Still with Jordan right now, and probably will be until he heads into Costa Rica. It's been helpful him having a watch and everything. It has saved me from having a repeat of showing up at the bus station at midnight in Copan thinking that it was maybe 5am. Yeah, I went back to bed, and was able to get a watch for the rest of the night but it did suck having to walk the 10 blocks to the bus station only to return. Oh well.

Advertisement



8th December 2005

Nice
Ha, awesome. About time you came around to this. Looking forward to hearing more from you Ry.

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0697s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb