If all else fails...


Advertisement
Central America Caribbean
November 28th 2007
Published: November 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

….maybe I’ll become a pro-surfer! Ok so I do have a little way to go, but I thoroughly enjoyed my day of surfing in St. Barths. The whole crew went to the beach to do a lesson and laboratory practical on wave formation and movement, and what better way to learn than by experiencing the waves first hand; attempting to surf them. We began by a quick introduction to waves and how they break, and then moved into a beach lesson on standing up on a board, before the students hit the waves to experiment with what they had learnt. I made the most of the chance to play in the waves and test out my surfing skills for the first time in about a year and a half - I was happy to discover that I hadn’t forgotten all that I had learnt whilst living in Sydney.

The rest of our stay in St. Barths has been about rubbing shoulders with the rich and famous - just have a look at some of the photos of the super yachts that are docked in the harbour!

I also celebrated my birthday today in a slightly unique manner; the day started with climbing the main mast (97ft) on narrow little footholds to raise the yacht’s pennant - a bright red triangular shaped flag emblazoned with ‘Ocean Star’ in white lettering, which is now fluttering with pride in the breeze. I then jumped straight into an Oceanography lecture before heading into town to have a browse through some of the super expensive shops and boutiques. The day ended with a meal out on the town before catching the tender back to Ocean Star.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



13th December 2007

Happy People
Great People

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0207s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb