Febreeze counts as perfume, right?


Advertisement
Published: October 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

As of yesterday I've officially seen all 3 shark species (reef, lemon, and nurse), a green turtle, eagle rays, and southern sting rays. I feel like I've accomplished what I came to do.

I really love Wednesdays. We don't have class and I get to sleep in until 10! It's like a dream come true... well actually, I wake up at 7:50 for morning meeting (yes, I'm at summer camp) and I try really hard to stay as asleep as possible through that to make my transition back to dream land easier. Once I'm actually up, its time to go snorkeling. I didn't really sea anything cool but it was, of course, still gorgeous but with a strong current. We really only snorkeled for about 25 min today because we're getting jaded and are just too cool for school.

Oh, I passed my coral test that I was dreading. I got like a 95%. Not my best but I'm certainly not about to complain... a lot.

We tie-dyed last night! I decided to tie-dye my SFS shirt that they sent us. I feel like its representative of my time here. When I got here, everything was a blank slate. I didn't have any experiences yet or actual expectations. As the months progress, however, the experiences (the color) add up and fill my blank slate making my semester a mix of beautiful colors... That is for every english teacher who never thought I'd appreciate symbolism. But really, I felt pretty clever coming up with that so please, don't rain on my parade.

The whole missing school and my mainland friends is starting to kick in. I'm still having an amazing time yet I'm sad I'm missing out on an entire semester of Kenyon. I only get 8 (if everything goes well...). I'm excited to come back and visit in December. Show off my incredible tan! But really, I miss you people. Stop trying to ruin my run by being so amazing back in the states/argentina/rome/france, etc....

I get to see my Dad in two weeks. I'm very very excited. Not to mention the whole sleeping in an air conditioned hotel and taking a daily shower again. That is going to really be the highlight, no offense Papa.

Our midterms are this weekend. I'm really not looking forward to having to study. It seems absurd that I'm expected to do any work in such a relaxed and beautiful place. They're each 3 hours, but they don't sound too hard. I'm sure it will be ok. Being a bio major has certainly helped with all of this.

I'm pretty sure there's a nice storm system about to descend on the island. I'm very much looking forward to that. I enjoy the days when its cloudy and I can go outside with out becoming completely drenched in my own sweat... well that's if I sit still. If you do any physical activity its unavoidable to no matter the weather or time of day.

I've been really lucky with my contacts on this trip. I haven't been able to wear them daily since Junior year of high school. Luckily, they've given me no problems and I've been able to see stuff! No more squinting, sorry Kate.

Oh on a bad note... I can't find my sunglasses. Not my prescription ones, but the others. I'm really hoping they show up soon. I'm in need of them. I also broke a pair of flip flops so I'm down to only my tevas. Hopefully Dad will bring me some replacements.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb