Beaches Turks and Caicos


Advertisement
Published: May 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I have to say Turks and Caicos is one of the best Caribbean places I have ever been. I have visited this island twice now and both times the weather was absolutely perfect the whole time.

I flew down with Westjet, and it is about a four hour flight. I actually really like Westjet, they have great service, snacks, they are really nice to fly. The one complaint I would have is the entertainment. While they do have seat back televisions, they have satellite TV so not always available the whole time, and my TV didn't work on the way there and my husband's didn't work on the return.

Turks is a completely stunning island, white sand, crystal clear water, gorgeous! I stayed at the Beaches Turks and Caicos resort, and have stayed in both the French and Caribbean section.
The Caribbean section is the oldest, it is smaller and quite close to the beach. The French section is much farther back and a little newer. The newest section is the Italian section and it is quite close to the beach too, and VERY nice. Each section has it's own pool and there is also a waterpark on site, awesome!

Right beside the waterpark there is a kid friendly restaurant with the typical burger and french fries fare, and a SUNDAE BAR! And again this is all inclusive...so yummy!

I honestly cannot say enough about the food here. We ate at a southwestern a la carte one night and my husband had two steaks they were so good! The buffet at breakfast was always awesome, fresh waffles and pancakes with loads of toppings, made to order omlettes and eggs, toasts, bagels, muffins, I was in heaven. I was pregnant during this trip so I had a few other considerations with regards to food. Turks is very close to the US so most of the foods were shipped from there, this meant I didn't have to worry about foods being pasteurized etc. One less thing to worry about while traveling pregnant.

Snorkeling right off the beach was great, lots of fish and some coral. You can borrow snorkeling sets at no charge, or bring your own. There was vollyball being played in the pool almost everyday, though not often at the beach.

They also had entertainment every night, and not just your standard shows. There was a movie night under the stars complete with popcorn and drinks. Another night there was a Texas Hold'em poker tournament (which I won!) And of course since it was a Beaches resort there was the Sesame Street entertainment too. Baking with Cookie Monster, parades, kiddies loved it.

When it was time for us to go, we had to check out of our room but our flight wasn't untill later in the afternoon. But Beaches offers a departure lounge where you can keep your bags, and it has kind of like a locker room complete with showers so you can freshen up. My hubby and I spent the whole day at the pool before heading to the lounge for a shower. One thing to watch, the floors in the shower area are slippery, I fell right on my but and had to be taken for an ultrasound. Beaches was awesome though they called a doctor in, took me to his office, and gave me a private transfer direct to the airport once I was cleared.

I would definitely go back to Turks any time I can!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.216s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1954s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb