Boat Show


Advertisement
Published: December 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I guess I have two things to write about. I'll do so in two posts.

I've been getting quite a few emails from Mom asking about the boat show so I guess I should post about it. Unfortunately I have almost nothing to write about.

The boat show is a very exclusive event. It's easier to get in to Chretien's bedroom then it is to get into the boat show but I guess that isn't saying much. The four day event is not open to the public at all. It would apparently even be unusual to see another person on the dock at the same time as you. It is instead all about brokers. It is a chance for the boats to roll out the red carpet to brokers and charter companies in the hopes of getting more business. I was in there the day before the show and these boats were sparing no expense. They were all building intense gardens and beaches with palm trees at the boat entrance and each boat was being polished front to back inside and out. Fresh flowers, expensive wine, drinks and food were being flown in fresh from all over the world. The parties going on there were also insane. They basically turned themselves into floating night clubs with free expensive everything, laser shows and DJ's going all night. Last night, every yacht in the harbour let loose on their foghorns and from almost two kilometres away it was still pretty impressive.

Unfortunately Mom I don't have any pictures. I have actually only been inside one of the superyachts since I got here and even this was only in the crew area. These yachts are extremely private and for the 4 days I worked on Yacht 1, the closest I got to inside was standing at one of the doors as we passed one of the 300 cushions out in a chain to various areas of the yacht.

Anyways, the boat show ends tomorrow so after that I should be able to get back into Port de Plaisance to do some dock walking. Now the yachts will actually be looking for people to crew up instead of focusing only on the boat show.

More to come.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb