Hang on... Do what now?


Advertisement
Published: May 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Folks, I have to start with an apology. I know I said Iwas going to tell you all about my first day, but I've decided against that. It went by in a whirl of jet lagged paper work and trying to learn an awful lot very quickly. So sufficeto say - tired, didn't listen, got pissed, had monumental hangover. Wished I was dead!

Yesterday I had my first shoot in one of the ships dining rooms (the Coral - as in sea life, not rodeo) Which was to say the least, knackering! Walking round to a hundred or so tables with a dozen folk round each pretending you're bight breezy and enjoying yourself got a wee bit tedious. And, as I yelled at the umpteenth eejit who asked me "NO I AM NOT FROM FUCKING AUSTRALIA!!!"

Still, as far as these things went for a first time it wasn't so bad.

So after that day which, incidentally ended at roughly midnight for me, I was up again at 6:50 to shoot the passengers (Ohhh if only... I could collect their heads and hang them in my room bwaaahahaha) ahem, take the passengers photos as they satggered (and stagger they did!) into St Maarten for the day to do shopping. This finished at about 11am, whereupon I've been pretty fortunate to havemost of the day off till 5. This evening I'm only doing a couple of hours at the gallery - selling our dubious portraits.

This is how my days seem to be running at the minute, but I am reliably informed, they will only get harder and longer! (Easy Si! EASY!)

Now that I come to think of it, I have another job to do. As I am part of the crew, I am also incharge of a Muster station. Its my job, along with two other people to help direct passengers down to muster points where I then have to show them a la the High Life how to put their life jackets on and where the nearest exits are. I do this every fortnight in addition to my regular duties, so that each new group of tourists won't have the inconvenience of drowning when the ship goes down ( I mean if, IF the ship goes down!)

Best wishes to all


Rob

N.B Special Mention must go to Sir Jam of Bit becaus he's turning 13 this weekend. For those of you who don't know him, he's a fucking awesome bloke you all should meet, gets my personal thumbs up and 3 gamesmaster golden joysticks. Happy Birthday you slag!

Advertisement



24th May 2007

Big Hugs my dear, big hugs!!!
Still thinking of you...if not chuckling somewhat. Much sympathy, but things will get better.
26th May 2007

I hate tourists
Hey rob, Glad to hear your having a good time!!! just think it could be worse, you cold be in the middle of a hot smelly indian city like me. Starting to prefer the locals to the bloody stupid, mainly american tourists i occasionally see, bumbags really, it just says mug me! enjoy your blog, keep it coming and look forward to a pint we next meet. take it easy mate

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb