Day LAST! WED. AUG 20


Advertisement
Published: August 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'll miss you sweet Bequia.
Sweet, sweet Bequia,
My Caribbean island home.

I'll miss the blue of your seas,
And the green of your hills,
The white of the sails of your ships at anchor.
The rainbow of colored houses that dot your land.
And the red of your ever-present mimosa trees.

I'll miss you sweet Bequia.
Sweet, sweet Bequia,
My Caribbean island home.

I'll miss the sound of your waves
Crashing onto Friendship beach,
And their gentle lapping onto your bronze sands of Lower Bay.
The winding motors of the "dollar buses"
As they speed up and down your steep roads.
The rustle of the wind in the leaves of your palms.
And the sound of dominoes being shaken
In your neighborhood watering holes.

I'll miss you sweet Bequia.
Sweet, sweet Bequia,
My Caribbean island home.

But most of all I'll miss your people.
The laughter of your children as they play in your seas.
The calm replies of "yah alright" and "mornin', mornin'"
From the walkers on your streets.
Their thick Caribbean accents, that,
Even though we share a common language,
Make it a joyous challenge to communicate.
And the patience with which they never mind repeating themselves.
But more than anything I will miss the peace and contentment
That shows in their smiles.
Smiles that so warmly welcomed me as on of their own.

I'll miss you sweet Bequia.
Sweet, sweet Bequia,
My Caribbean island home.



ONE FINAL NOTE: YOU'RE ALL INVITED TO MY HOUSE ON MONDAY NIGHT, AUG. 25 AT 7:30 TO SEE ALL THE PICTURES AND HEAR ALL THE STORIES. PLEASE COME SHARE ONE LAST STORY OF BEAUTIFUL BEQUIA. 405-650-2132 for more information.
AND THANK YOU ALL FOR FOLLOWING MY ISLAND ADVENTURE.

Yah mon, Bequia,
David


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb