DAY 11 - 08/08/08


Advertisement
Published: August 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

August 8, 2008 (080808)! A day of good luck I'm told. Well, I feel pretty lucky to be spending the day in Bequia. This morning on my way to town I took a detour and ventured up to a part of the island called Mt Pleasant. Another exhausting climb up a series of switchbacks. This island would make a great Tour de France stage.

Marcia asked me if I ever wear a shirt since in most of my pictures I'm without one. Looking back I see that she is on to something there. Most of my pictures are taken either on the beach or at the top of a grueling climb, so I guess that's the reason. Today's photos actually have me wearing a shirt.

Speaking of clothing. Eleven days into the trip I still have 3 pairs of shorts and two shirts that I have yet to even wear. I'm finding that my running shirts that are quick-drying, moisture wicking fabrics work way better than cotton t-shits. And as far as shorts go, I spend most of my days in a swim suit or running shorts.

I digress! Back to Mt Pleasant. There's a beautiful view from the top (I guess you're getting kind of tired of hearing that) There's a peaceful grassy patch at the top that just begs for a romantic picnic. I start over the hill and down the back side and my camera battery goes dead. Since I know I must come back to take some more pictures, I save the exploring for another day and head back down the hill. About half way down a man is pulling out of his driveway and offers me a ride. I decline his offer saying I enjoy the walk. After he drives away I regret not taking him up on his offer. I always enjoy visiting with the local people.

Back in town I do all the computer stuff and go to Princess Margaret beach for the afternoon. Its one of the best beaches here for swimming. There are at least a dozen sailboats-mostly Catamarans-anchored here and there are zodiacs buzzing to and from the beach occasionally.

Once I've soaked up all the sun I can take for one day I decide its time for a haircut. Allen has recommended I go see Mr Bigg. Mr Bigg's Barbershop is located upstairs in a building about a block off the beach. A haircut is only $15EC (that's less than $6us). When I arrive there's only one tall, slender young man.

---SIDEBAR--- Someone once said "England and the United States are two countries separated by a common language". That saying holds true here as well. Even though the island language is English, the accents are so thick here that I can't understand half of what people are saying.

After some trouble communicating how short I want it cut, I ask "you're not Mr Bigg, are you?" He laughs and say "No, Mr Bigg" and he holds his hands out wide to illustrate why Mr Bigg is so named. While "Mr Skinny" is buzzing my head, a couple of young guys come in and a conversation ensures that I only understand about one in every five works, but I can tell they're making plans for Friday night. Now that my head is buzzed I'll have to be careful not to get it sunburned. but at least I won't need another haircut till I reach home.

Back at home its mac and cheese and the Olympics ceremonies. When the athletes march in I see only about 6 for St. Vincent and the Grenadines, but I feel a sense of price for my adopted home.


Live from Bequia mon,
David



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The GingerbreadThe Gingerbread
The Gingerbread

a favorite hangout for the "Yachties"


11th August 2008

Big Blue House
The Big Blue House.....does someone rich live in that or is it just a local?

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb