Puerto Rico


Advertisement
Published: December 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Yes, I'm back out in the world. This time it's a work trip! CRAZY! There were some bumps and bruises to get settled in that's for sure. But, now we are all in our rooms and happy to have finished a long, overnight red-eye flight and mishaps at the car rental counter. I do need to say that Puerto Rico is not cheap! Flying here was expensive... everything has been expensive! But, I guess normally I'm only paying for and watching out for myself - not a group of 5. Sokay! We're here!

Today we stomped around Viejo San Juan. It is gorgeous! The lights are up for Christmas, the people are so friendly, AND I am practicing my spanish... sort of. I'm understanding most of what's being said and answering in English. Everyone here speaks English, of course, so it's helpful to me.

I am not at a computer where I can post pictures but they will soon come around Christmas time.

The weather was in the high 80s today and humid. Curls alive! Tomorrow is a beach and museum/shopping day. My co-worker and I will be taking a "day off" so I'm thinking of going solo to El Yunque. I looked up some volunteer opps but there is not much to do with the island wilderness (not the season for turtles I guess 😞 One day I will work with sea turtles!) There was an opp to work at the humane society, but I know that I will just be depressed all day and want to take all of the dogs home with me. LD and Bailey will refuse another one I'm sure.

Dinner was interesting. But I made it work because I was starving! I had a traditional Puerto Rican dish called Pasteles Puertorriquena which came with a soup bowl of beans and white rice.

from wikipedia: "Pasteles are not a sweet pastry or cake, but a soft dough-like mass wrapped in a banana or plantain leaf and boiled. In the center of the dough are choice pieces of chopped meat, shellfish, chicken, raisins, spices, capers, olives, sofrito and often garbanzo beans"
- So that's what it was? (will post pictures). Mine was without shellfish (I think).

More food and experiences to follow tomorrow!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0857s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb