It's easy to grin when your ship comes in....


Advertisement
Published: June 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I thought Panama City was fantastic, I'm just not exactly sure why. Maybe in the process of writing this blog I'll figure out what I liked about it, but maybe not. I think it was just the 'vibe' of the place. In some parts, the standard big city hustle and bustle was there to be seen, but in Casco Viejo (the old town) where I stayed and mainly hung out, life seemed to move pretty slow. I think part of the reason for the laid back attitude of the Panamanians is the canal. Handling around 40 ships a day with an average toll of more than US$50,000 (yes, I went to the Panama Canal Museum), it is a handy little money spinner for the country, especially considering that it was built mainly with American finance back in the day. This may have nothing to do with it, but it's hard not to notice that Panamanians generally take it pretty easy.

I think another reason I liked Panama City was the heat and intense humidity. Normally I wouldn't enjoy spending much of the day in a lather of sweat, but having come from the high altitude, cold, dry air of
Pure genius BradfieldPure genius BradfieldPure genius Bradfield

This bridge was a Sydney Harbour Bridge wannabe (can barely be seen through the smoke)
La Paz, it was a most welcome change. I suppose the saying "a change is as good as a holiday" holds true even in the middle of a year long holiday. It was seriously sticky though - the sort of heat that smashes you in the face when you walk out into it from an air conditioned building.

Perhaps the lethargic, loafing locals combined with the heat to lower my guard and lull me into a false sense of security, but I felt really quite safe the whole time I was there. I walked around after dark and never felt remotely threatened, which was probably why I was so taken aback when I was told by a few guys from Panama City that I met in Bocas del Toro that it was actually considered quite a dangerous city. I was even more incredulous when they told me that Casco Viejo in particular was a very rough part of town.

The whole situation made me realise something that's very true of solo travel. Obviously one may well find themselves in the odd sticky situation now and then if they are travelling through third world and developing countries, but if
View from Paseo las BovedasView from Paseo las BovedasView from Paseo las Bovedas

That fire was actually quite huge
they want to feel safe and unthreatened in the mean time, the key is to avoid fellow travellers who peddle horror stories, and avoid reading travel warnings and the 'Dangers and Annoyances' section of the Lonely Planet guide. For me in Panama City, ignorance was bliss.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Up on the Paseo las BovedasUp on the Paseo las Bovedas
Up on the Paseo las Bovedas

HJT before the profuse sweating began
Is this the where the shortcut is?Is this the where the shortcut is?
Is this the where the shortcut is?

The queue for entry to the Panama Canal
Treading lightly in the chase for NoriegaTreading lightly in the chase for Noriega
Treading lightly in the chase for Noriega

This place was destroyed when the Yanks came to town in '89
Not in great shapeNot in great shape
Not in great shape

The same place 'renovated' by the Americans
Casa Rosada wannabeCasa Rosada wannabe
Casa Rosada wannabe

The sights of Parque Simon Bolivar
TropicalTropical
Tropical

Tarzan would be well served around here
Bargains for gringosBargains for gringos
Bargains for gringos

Santa Ana mall


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb