Warrior Princess and the Monkeys (take two)


Advertisement
Panama's flag
Central America Caribbean » Panama » Chiriquí » Boquete
August 16th 2012
Published: August 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Mio nouevo amigoMio nouevo amigoMio nouevo amigo

who is camera shy
With intermittent electricity this week, I was unable to finish my stories from the other day. During the time we did not have lights, many of the locals were stopping by our house and speaking with my host parents. My host father works for the electric company, so some of the locals think it is his fault when the lights go out in the town. He is quite famous.

Today I started my volunteer work at La Jungla. It is a small wildlife rehabilitation center just outside of town and up another mountain. It is run by an American who lives on the property full time. There are monkeys of various species, birds and parrots, a small animal who looks like a tiny ant eater with claws that could shred glass. The entire facility is run on donations and they could certainly use more money. Plus there is a 1 year old puppy who is on site and waiting for a family to adopt him. I have to tell you it I everything in my power not to take him home with me at the end of my stay. Anyone interested­­­­­?



The monkeys are a riot, each with their own personality. One howler monkey is not particularly fond of me and finds my blond hair offensive. When I get close he bares his teeth and huffs, growls and paces in his cage. Another monkey who resembles an orangutan is extremely smart and cunning. When I took out my camera for a photo, he put his hand in front of his face so I could not get a picture or he would present his backside in not such a kind manner. It took me at least 10 times to get a picture, during which time I almost lost my camera. Standing at what I thought was a safe distance from the cage I was looking through the lens waiting for face shot when he reached out at lightning speed and wrapped a hand and a tail around the camera. In the nick of time, I pulled backwards and away and managed to fall, without grace, to the ground. You should see the bruise!!!



There are several other animals on site including pythons, mountain goats, cows, a horse, and chickens and of course a rooster who follows me EVERYWHERE simply to taunt me I
no name yet but adorableno name yet but adorableno name yet but adorable

He helps me clean by repeatedly emptying the bags of garbage.
am sure.



During my time in this volunteer program, I will perform repairs on the habitats, feed and play with the animals and clean the cages. I am in my element. All that is missing is a dolphin pool and I would move into the facility permanently.



I am starting to use my Spanish more often and am unable to think of the English word at times. I started to dream in this language as well so all I can say my first week has been a great success.



PS // This evening the toilet flooded my room and this time i told my hot family. You just can’t make this stuff up.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

He is loved by allHe is loved by all
He is loved by all

This little guy is loved and tolerated by all the animals at La Jungla. He likes to ride the ant-eater animal like a horse and hangs from other monkey´s netheregions
AmazonianAmazonian
Amazonian

who is quickly learning my name
El MONOEl MONO
El MONO

I taught my host brother the word monkey and he repeats it using my voice.
Hungy?Hungy?
Hungy?

He communicates he is hungry using ASL


Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb