Happy Valentine's Day!


Advertisement
Published: February 17th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Valentine's Day Journey


On the planeOn the planeOn the plane

Thanks Uncle Dave for the tasty cheese cake to go. It was not wasted.
Happy Valentine's Day!

I was lucky enough to get back to Pascal on February 14th after my loving parents drove me early to the airport on a cold Monday morning in NY.

JetBlue's aircraft, a pretty new medium-sized affair had a problem detecting the fuel level, so there was a three-hour delay taking off. I kept thinking, maybe I won't see my husband on this romantic day after all. But no, we got off in time for me to make the second to last local bus from Liberia Costa Rica to the border at Penas Blancas. What is a Pena anyway?

I got in a taxi on the other side of the border and was driven by an OK guy, can't really remember what we talked about, my Spanish is not so sophisticated so I ran out of things to say pretty quickly.

Pascal was there waiting for me at Casa Oro, the big back packer spot in town, and we were lucky enough to get hosted by a fellow Canadian, Kusuma, from Victoria Canada who has a lovely apartment here.

San Juan is a nice mixture of Nicas and Party-loving expats. Also there is amazing
Nighttime borderNighttime borderNighttime border

The trucks have to wait an awfully long time to cross this border. I wished them a Happy Valentine's Day!
ceviche to be had for 3 dollars a serving. We can't stop going to the local fish market for tuna and shrimp, behind which there us CAT PARADISE.

Doggies love it here too, and wild and domestic coexist. I saw a couple of cute pits too.

I couldn't think of a better place to transition from North America.

Missing you all

Alaina


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Bus scheduleBus schedule
Bus schedule

I was proud of myself for resisting the urge to take a taxi. The bus was great.
One of those low sugar drinksOne of those low sugar drinks
One of those low sugar drinks

Nicaragua does this too now
Up to the Jesus statue at sunsetUp to the Jesus statue at sunset
Up to the Jesus statue at sunset

Kinda like all Catholic places
Jesus statueJesus statue
Jesus statue

Pascal pointed out they put an antenna in his back. Can't see that here.
Cooking tunaCooking tuna
Cooking tuna

Deliciousness
Nica eggsNica eggs
Nica eggs

They really are yellower
OmeletteOmelette
Omelette

Can't really mess this up. Our hostess is allergic to eggs so we have to be careful and use a separate pan. Thanks Kusuma for tolerating out egg lovingness.


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb