Mombacho Volcano


Advertisement
Published: December 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

MombachoMombachoMombacho

Final hours with hair...
Well, after meeting back up with Buber at the Bearder Monkey, Jordan and I decided that we would join him on what we thought would be a fun and exciting volcano trek. Now, perhaps I was being a little naive, but I was picturing your typical, awesome lava flowing volcano so some people may not share my disapointment with the climb. The good news was that instead of taking a $20 tour up the 'volcano', we did it on our own and the total trek ended up costing about 6 dollars. All you have to do is take a chicken bus, ask them to drop you off near Mombacho (which they pretty much know anyway cause we're white), and then follow the hill up. Starting out we imagined a nice little jaunt up a hill (again being perhaps a little naive) only for it to turn into quite the trek. I was sweating, Jordan was sweating, and hte other four guys were kicking our asses. I guess I am out of shape. In any case we covered the 5km, 1000m climb in a hour even though the lady at the booth said it was going to take 2.5. While there was
From the TopFrom the TopFrom the Top

Granada and the Lake
a couple holes with steam coming out of them at the top, and a great view of Granada and the lake, it was basically just a mountain...Anyway, I am just figuring out what I am going to do next...maybe fly to the COrn Islands or something, or volunteer here for a week...not sure.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

GranadaGranada
Granada

From Granada
good bye hairgood bye hair
good bye hair

it is just too damn hot...


Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 16; qc: 72; dbt: 0.07s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb