Leon Market


Advertisement
Published: January 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today we woke up early and decided to go around the city and see what Leon was all about. It was early morning but already we were sweating. First we grabbed a bite to eat; Jeff and I eating leftovers, before heading of to the central plaza. Dominating the main square is the large cathedral which we entered and quietly walked through. Many of the alters and paintings were spectacular. The Main alter with the Tabernacle (hope I spelled that right) was in the middle with seating in front of it. Large statues, bells, and lion figurines surrounded he cathedral in the roof and around the outside. From there we wandered around the market and again I went looking for a soccer jersey. To my surprise I found out that soccer/football isn't popular at all in Nicaragua. Their main sport is baseball and even the locals couldn't tell me if they even had a national team. I settled on buying some fudge instead and boy did I get fudge. I gave the guy 25 cords (roughly 1.25usd) expecting one of the large bricks (2 pounds) that would last me for two months with some to spare. Instead he have me 4 bricks which is more than I could eat in a lifetime. It is really sugary and I am going to have to give it away. After we wandered for a bit it just got too hot. We headed back to the hostel with empty water bottles and wet shirts. Jeff hopped into the pool while Justin and I sat on the edge cooling off. Matt went for a cold shower I think. We got word that James was heading down on the afternoon boat today so he should reach us in two days. The rest of our day was taken by lazing around in the hostel with the turtles and playing pool. We got a good idea of what was in and around Leon today so for our remaining time here we will be busy. 

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb