First impressions


Advertisement
Published: May 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, here i am in Nicaragua: I can barely belive it! What´s strange is how at HOME I feel, and Í only just got here. Maybe it will hit me later... But all the stressing about the trip b4 I left, and the hours sitting on the plane and worrying myself to the point that I felt like I was going to throw up (but fortunately didn´t!) must have used up my worry-quota for at LEAST a year. So when I finally arrived, I wasn´t worried at all. I was barely even looking out of the cab windows, it was just like¨"O, OK, here I am¨. It feels like home already. Strange, eh?

Juliana (my hostess) and I hit it off right away. I think we´re going to get along really well. I can already tell that it´s going to be very different for me than it was for Jamilah (last year´s intern, who had quite a negative experience of racism, sexism, and general exclusion)-- people are already coming up to me and assuming that I´m from here. It´s so nice to look around and just see a sea of people who LOOK LIKE ME. It´s wierd, I know, but its not something I´ve ever experienced b4, even in Mexico.´

Things ARE very different though, don´t get me wrong. For example, we don´t have running water most days (apparently) so we have to bathe and wash our hands etc. in one big bucket of water that has to last for everyone for the entire day. (I think I´ll try and avoid being the last person to "shower"!)The house itself has a corrugated tin-roof and plywood walls, much like camp cabins up here. That
actually is quite comforting for me: it´s somehow familiar. Also, there´s an Evangelical church across the¨"street" (more like what we´d call an ally, as each neighborhood is a complcated network of allyways that then links on to the main road through a common entrance) from which the sounds of loud singing and a lot of preaching (read "yelling at", with "padre dios" insterted every-other
word!) echo across the entire neighborhood. I came outside to see what all the commotion was when the service first started, cuz I thought maybe a parade was going by or something. But no, appartenly that´s just every-day Church!

One last thing: Jamilah had described to me the "lush greenery", so I was a little surprisee when I was looking out of the plane window down onto miles and miles of what appeared to just be dusty fields and hills/mountains. But it´s wierd, cuz when I landed i finally understood what she meant: all of the trees and plants are a kind of luminous, bright green that u just don´t see in Canada, but stranegly the "grass" is just totally dry, shrub-like patches and
dust/dirt. I get the impression that the trees have quite literally SUCKED the water out of the ground to feed their lush vegetation, leaving the grass to wither and scorch. I found that interesting.

Well, that´s all for me for now. I´m going to go back and watch telenovelas (Mexican soaps that look like they were filmed on a home-video camera, with equally-dreadful romantic/emotional skripts and acting that seems like they just pulled joe-blow off the street and gave him a role!)with juliana. They are SO terrible, it´s really entertaining. But I have to contain my amusement, as they take their telenovelas really seriously down here!lol. I find it an interesting cultural lesson: particularly the gender-relations are quite
telling. Tommorrow I´m going to the immigration office, and then Juliana might take me on a day-trip to Masaya (the artisans
quater, where I´ve begged her to take me at somepoint!) Then we´ll take the 5 hour bus ride to nueva Guinea on either Saturday or Sunday.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

bathroombathroom
bathroom

This is the bathroom in Juliana´s house in Managua. Note that there is no sink, and the tub in the "shower" for washing.
me & Juliana me & Juliana
me & Juliana

us, in Juliana´s kitchen, in Managua
in Juliana´s house, Managuain Juliana´s house, Managua
in Juliana´s house, Managua

this is me, Juliana, and her son Raul in her living room in Managua
Raul and Gladys´ baby, ManaguaRaul and Gladys´ baby, Managua
Raul and Gladys´ baby, Managua

aww! the litte gyangsta!
clubbing friens, Managuaclubbing friens, Managua
clubbing friens, Managua

here is Juliana´s niece, and her brother, at her brothers house. We later went clubbing 2gether.
bus terminal, Manguabus terminal, Mangua
bus terminal, Mangua

Note the sign on the post with the little girl who is ´disaperecida´. Also, the ppl selling all kinds of stuff are really interesting. They actually get ON to the bus, and walk up and down the aisles yelling whatever they´re selling, and then get off at the next town. Ahh, the creativity of the ´informal sector´. It´s ingenious, really: cuz how else can u get food when ur on a bus?
la desaperecidala desaperecida
la desaperecida

her poor parents...How awful.
las montañas (the mountains)las montañas (the mountains)
las montañas (the mountains)

Here´s a pic taken while on the bus from Managua,to Nueva Ginea.
pic taken on the buspic taken on the bus
pic taken on the bus

We passed a town called "Muaw" (moo-aww), because the cows there go "mooo!" I love the creative names here!
el campoel campo
el campo

this is the field we walked across to get to the spot where we spent the day, on the staff day-trip to ´el campo´.
el rio (the river), en el campoel rio (the river), en el campo
el rio (the river), en el campo

The river where we spent the day swimming and playing.
my friends (los niños) en el campomy friends (los niños) en el campo
my friends (los niños) en el campo

here are my little freinds, with whom I caught tadpoles and played in the water. The little girl in the middle, Evelyn, was particularly attached to me. Although I don´t think they understood that I don´t really speak spanish, and their rapid speech can be really hard to understand! But when I didn´t undrerstand and told them so, they just smiled, and then splashed me! Playing alleviates the need for talking!
the walk to URACCANthe walk to URACCAN
the walk to URACCAN

this is the view while walking to URACCAN from Juliana´s house in Nueva Ginea


Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0718s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb