Photos!


Advertisement
Published: November 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I personally think that photos are even better than reading so I am going to try to put a bunch of photos up for all of you to see more of what my life is like. Plus I have some photos I need to take to show you all!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Butchering time!Butchering time!
Butchering time!

So its very normal here to butcher the food in the back yard. This is a pelibuey, a mix between a sheep and goat. And oh gosh is the meat yummy!
Pizza!Pizza!
Pizza!

Pizza here is a BIG treat. A few weeks ago we ordered one and Guillen, Norvin, Joel and Jimmy couldnt have been more excited.
ChickensChickens
Chickens

Dont ask why, I just got a kick out of the chickens in the tree. This is normal at Chacocente. And well in most of Nica.
My girls!My girls!
My girls!

Sharon and Marli have quickly become my two best girl friends here. We had a nice day out together a few weeks ago.
Norvin and INorvin and I
Norvin and I

So it IS possible for me to be girly and dress up! haha
DancingDancing
Dancing

Girls in the church doing a dance at the anniversary service
Day of the RaceDay of the Race
Day of the Race

The girls are dressed up in traditional Nica clothes and dance and talk about the culture. These two are Darling and Jomara. I love them to death!
Products for sale!Products for sale!
Products for sale!

The women in Chacocente make hammocks, bracelets, necklaces and purses to sell to the people that come. They had them all put up one day for a group that was coming.
CookingCooking
Cooking

I cook A LOT now. And wear skirts. Im becoming a girl. Ay yi yi
Halloween!Halloween!
Halloween!

The kids lined up and ready to go for Halloween!
Rosa and JomaraRosa and Jomara
Rosa and Jomara

Ready for trick-or-treating!
The kitchenThe kitchen
The kitchen

This is part of the kitchen at the school at Chacocente. Cooking on a fire is very normal here. Most people dont have stoves.
Working hardWorking hard
Working hard

We were digging a trench to run the pipe for water to the school. It still doesnt work all the time.
Welcome!Welcome!
Welcome!

Welcome to Chacocente. This is written on la Casona, or the Big House in Chacocente. Its sort of the main office storage type building. My 5 and 6 grade art class did this, because they always welcome the groups there.
Culto!Culto!
Culto!

From the back of the church the whole church and congregation in worhsip!
At the volcanoAt the volcano
At the volcano

So its a GORGEOUS view here!


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb