Heyoh whos got my adventures


Advertisement
Published: September 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hola amigos, muchachos, and loved ones.
This is my first entry in this blog from nicaragua. Welcome all to my world here through my words, and hopefully some photos.

Please pardon my gramatic and spelling errors when you encounter them.

I have been in Managua Nicaragua for a little over a week and a half. Where I have seen and tried to hear extreme amounts of cultural happenings that are still not quite making sense to me. A little about my siuation I am living in a middle working-class barrio called Maximo Jerez. There is no running water after 8 am and beginning this week the electricity will be turned off from 5-10pm, because last week it was from 2-7pm. There is of course an energy crisis that is causing this preplanned disturbance, but there is electricity during the entire weekend.

I just returned from the beach of San Juan del Sur on the south west pacific side of nicaragua just north of costa rica. There were a bunch of ships in the harbor when we first got there, so after a quiet breakfast on the beach we went adventuring, and stumbled onto some of the most beautiful scenes I have encountered in my life. Being surrounded by a tropical jungle we were following this teraced-cut patch along a jagged beach made of sediment and volcanic rock, with the mountains of costa rica in the distance. It was like a paradise scene where a bunch of ucky teenage travelers go for a private beach triop and then get tormented by a muderer throughout.

So far here we have traveled to Leon and gone on many political and educational excursions like the national assembly, and a voter registration type talk, and also to the traveling museum of the literacy crusade, and other jaunts to wet our palets with culture and language before our real classes begin this week.

SO far the only consistent thing is spanish class in the morning. But i'm not sure what the structure of it is and we switch instructors every week. Well every other week because we travel outside of managua every other week. Like next week we a going to a campo in central nica for a week and living with a family there. Then returning for another week to managua and such.

Nica is crazy, i have never been to the tropics so the climate is nearly deathly. I have also never seen such a diversity of economic standing street to street nor the level of poverty abundant here. one of the first days we passed an encampment built out of trashbags and rope creating a multi-room structure for people to live in. I thought that it was a slum at first but came to find out that it is part of a yearly protest against the neglection of benefits by the government for workers affected by the spraying of pesticides by dole in the 60's and 70's.

SO this trip is wild and exciting so far, but i feel this is enough for the first blog, but please stay tuned, as i will try to update this frequently.

Advertisement



18th September 2007

Hi There
Cailen, I just found your blog and its great to hear about your travels. It does sound very different from Mexico. I hope you're well and enjoying it. Paul

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1079s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb