Im here!


Advertisement
Published: August 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone. Hopefully there are actually people that are going to read this!

I am here at my new house in Nicaragua! I am living with a family of four. Dad (Pablo), Mom (not sure of her name. whoops.) Isaac my "brother" and my "sister" Jessica. Isaac is seventeen and Im not sure how old Jessica is. Oh and Im sorry for not having apostrophes but they dont work on the keyboard haha.

Anyway, my plane landed a little late last night but not by much. Omar (Project Chacocentes translator and a good friend of mine) and Gabriel (Charitos right hand man) were there waiting for me. I really didnt et excited until then because saying goodbye to everyone was so hard but as soon as I saw them and then walked out and smelled Nica (Im telling you all, it has a distinct smell) I got excited. It was a nice drive to the town of Sabana Grande where I will be living.

Once I arrived to the house, Isaac showed me around and then sat and talked with me for a while. It was good to catch up since I know him from the Mission of Peace. Its a cute little house and for right now I have my own room, although Rachael and I will be sharing soon. I am about twenty feet from church, because Pablo is the pastor and there are services every night but Thursday. I am planning on going a lot to make friends, learn more Spanish and just blend into their culture as much as possible. Im not required to go though because some days I will be coming home from the project later or very very tired. I am very excited to live here though. Already Ive met some of their family and some people in the church. The great thing about Nicaraguans is how friendly and welcoming they are. And mom, I made my bed AND washed dishes already this morning and its only 10 am here!! haha

As for the project, I think I will be going tomorrow. I will be getting up around 530 every morning, and taking two or three different buses and then riding a bike down the dirt road to the project. Im actually very excited for it. The exercise will be nice. Rachael is here for about another month so in that time she will show me the ropes of getting there and home and hopefully by the time she leaves, I wont get completely lost! I am very excited to spend time at the project with Charito, Omar, the families and of course David!! Im also very excited to spend time with my family (the Tellez family.)

Things I have realized already in being here less than 24 hours.'


Well, I think thats it for now. Ill update in a few days maybe when I have more interesting things to tell. Love and miss you all very much!

¡Que dios les bendigas!


Advertisement



23rd August 2007

CHELSEA!<3
Chels! It sounds like you made it there alright, and you are getting around easily and hopefully understanding everything easily too. It sounds like you are living with a wonderful family, going to meet tons, and TONS of loving people and are going to be just fine. Hope you like the church! Good luck learning more spanish and waking up really, really early to go to the project, too! Also, have a fun time teaching and being with David and all the other wonderful little children and adults =) I will talk to you later, GOOD LUCK AGAIN. I miss you, and love you very much.
24th August 2007

<3
chelsea just reading that made me cry. no joke. i love and miss you so much!
25th August 2007

Wow... Chelsea I can not even think of a word to describe you... you're selfless and brave, loving and just purley amazing! I love you very much and I'm praying for you and the Project all the time!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb