Leaving for Los Pepitos


Advertisement
Published: January 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tonight was the last night with the big ole group, and it was a little sad. I have enjoyed every moment with this folks so much, they are so energetic and incredible!

Our last reflection was also really powerful, and I was so happy and surprised (in some cases, very!) when folks commented that myself and people from EE had made such an impression, had really changed their view, had taught them so much. I think its because I feel like fair trade is so a part of my thinking, that advocating and educating and talking about it feel natural and I dont always realize how other people receive it.

To share my reflection thoughts: I am leaving with this enormous sense of pride in the farmers we work with, and the ways that they are taking coffee seriously. At every cooperative we visited and met with, the farmers talk about the way they are diversifying and planning marketing strategies, organizing groups to focus on that, considering and going after other markets, and its all incredible. The things I witnessed at their coops was just wonderful.

The piece de resistance, though, was the cafe (yes, CAFE) at SOPPEXCA in Matagalpa. It was gorgeous. I had the best.mocha.ever. I have never seen such a beautiful drink, and it tasted exquisite. It goes down in history, in my espresso hall of fame. And each of the two barristas was able to whip these up in perfect time. I am telling you, their committment to coffee, training, and quality is unbelievable.

Tonight I played BS with the late nighters and drank a last Tona with folks. I am obviously gonna have to perfect my BS face for the next delegation!

Summer, Josh, and I are heading for Esteli tommorrow morning, on the bus. (Josh is a seminary student from the trip, and joined our little travelling party last minute). We are staying at Hospedaje Familar, this hostel in Esteli run by Dona Edith, a Sandinista vegetarian who practices yoga and is certified in Eastern medicine. Cannot WAIT to meet her!

I start Spanish classes on Monday, and it will be nice to have a day to bum around Esteli with these two.

Night!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb