Welcome to JAMROCK...


Advertisement
Published: September 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

´Jamaica, Jamaica.... Jamaica, Jamaica...¨

Ths country on the other hand I can't wait to re visit!!
I have only good things to say about Jamaica...
The people are beautiful, the accent is the BOMB, the food is amazing (especially the Rastafari cuisine), the music (reggae pumps EVERYWHERE), the smells in the air (yes I am referring to the smell of incense), the beer (Red Stripe) I love it, the list goes on...

We had an amazing night (Sunday) the last night of Sumfest (the world's BIGGEST reggae festival), saw some amazing local acts and fortunately Beenie Man graced the stage (we had missed him on the opening night due to our flight stuff ups) which was unreal! We arrived around midnight and danced till about 7am. It really was mind blowing! The best festival night I have experienced (and as you all know I have been to many music festivals), it was unique to anything I have ever seen. For example; there were people walking around selling beers, food, ciggies, red bull, you name it... there were even people walking around selling stems of bud, yup no joke full on stems with massive buds on them! Craziest and funniest
Great sandlesGreat sandlesGreat sandles

Caito I thought of you when I bought these! You would totally dig them! :)
thing I have ever witnessed.

We swam in divine beaches with perfect temperatures (and generally Amy and I were the only white people on the beach, full of locals, we loved it!). We met a lovely local artist, Rohan, during our stay in Negril, Amy and Guido bought a gorgeous painting off him and later that night his friends played music for us (guitar and sax) whilst we enjoyed ice cold Red Stripes and chilled on the beach on a balmy night. Rohan taught us about the local lingo ¨Patwa¨ which is a version of English but is spoken super quick, basically meshing words together. It is extrmemly hard to understand!

We had a crazy/fun taxi driver named ¨Mr. Kool¨, he was a true groover!! He drove us in his airconditioned mini bus from Montageo Bay (or as we called it MoeBay... local lingo) to Negril to Ocho Ricos... we then had his friend drive us from Ocho Ricos to Kingston...

Kingston was a blast! We had the BEST day sussing out the music scene! Guido collected some beauties (cd's for djing back home), we visited Tuff Gong recording studios where many Jamaican artisits record their music
Foolin´...Foolin´...Foolin´...

... on a water trampoline! Good times!
today. It was amazing! The highlight of my trip (well apart from the festival), we learnt about how records are made and watched them actually being made. Oh my gosh it really was amazing! I guess not all of you are into you music, but those who are you would have LOVED it!! So cool to watch it in action!! Guido got talking music to the guys in the studio and they ended up listening to Aori's album (which he just happened to have on him, Brazilian Hip Hop at it's finest). Anyways they totally dug it and one of the dudes asked us to come back at the end of our tour! We ended up heading to his own recording studio and he showed Aori the stuff he's been producing. He gave him some cd's to take back to Brazil and write some rhymes to and said ¨email me when you're done and I'll be in touch¨!! Super cool and very exciting for Aori!
We also visited the Bob Marley Museum (a must in Kingston) which was actually his house one apon a time. It was really interesting to learn more about his life, family, friends, music, love of Soccer/Rastafarian Culture and of course weed... we saw loads of beautiful photos, walked through his house and ended with a film about his music career and life in general. He is a much loved man and will be in the hearts of Jamaicans forever!

Something I love about Jamaica is how patriotic they are! Not in an arrogant way but a loving way! They are so proud of their country, their people and their culture. They all wear the Jamaican colours (jewellery and t-shirts) with much pride! It is really heart warming!

As I said I have nothing but nice things to say about this BEAUTIFUL Island!
I hope to visit again one day!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Feel the rhythm...Feel the rhythm...
Feel the rhythm...

... feel the rhyme, C'mon team it's bob- sled time... :)
Me and my home boys...Me and my home boys...
Me and my home boys...

These 12yr olds took a liking to me and hung out with us for about half an hr one night! Well they do say I have a way with kids!
For all you surfers out there!For all you surfers out there!
For all you surfers out there!

Wally, Rory, Wombat, Spence and Jase I took this one for ya'll! Thought you'd dig it! Was in a bar in MoeBay!
Mr Kool...Mr Kool...
Mr Kool...

what a dude!
clear bottomed kyakclear bottomed kyak
clear bottomed kyak

This was super cool (yeah I like that word a lot eh?!), we went to a fun park and kyaked (spelling??, held a baby sting ray (the stingers were taken out), saw sharks and dolphins and had a ride in a speed boat!
Pirates...Pirates...
Pirates...

Junior this one's for you!
Australia in Tuff Gong...Australia in Tuff Gong...
Australia in Tuff Gong...

So cool, this made it to the actual recording room in Tuff Gong! Must be precious!! Amy, Guido and I were stoked!


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 77; dbt: 0.0718s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb