La Ceiba


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Northern » Omoa
October 9th 2008
Published: October 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone,

Sorry that it has been a while, but I am really busy all of a sudden. There seems to be an endless stack of papers to grade. Also, I started Spanish lessons for three hours, two days a week, I am coaching girls basketball, and I am tutoring a little 5 year old boy two days a week. I am starting to not like having 6 different classes, because there is so much stuff to do for them. The girls basketball team is fun, but a lot of them are really whiny and practice is tiring. We had our first game two weekends ago though and that was really fun. The girls are smaller and younger than the other teams, and haven't played before so we got killed. Spanish lessons are good so far. It is a lot of review on verbs and other grammer, which I really need.

Last weekend we went to La Ceiba and Pico Bonito National Park. It was really fun. We got the bus there Friday night and stayed in a hostel in La Ceiba. It is about a four hour bus ride. The next morning we rode a sweet jeep up to Jungle River Lodge in Pico Bonito National Park. There we did a zipline canopy tour. The tour was really fun. We saw a lot of cool things. I ate a plant that makes your tongue numb and ate termites. They tasted like carrots. The last zipline was long and fast and went over the river. i have a lot of pictures to post as soon as I have time. The lodge was also really cool. There were cliffs that we jumped off into the river. The whole thing cost $40 and included a night at the lodge. The problem was that beer were 40 Lempira (2 dollars) which is pretty expensive. This place is definatley somewhere I want to go back to. I will tell you more when I post pictures. The next day we went back to La Ceiba and went to the beach. We stayed the night in another hostel and went back to Puerto Cortes the next day. I will post a bunch of pictures when I have time. The computers are really slow so it takes a while.

Yesterday we bought tickets to go to the Honduras-Canada world cup qualifier game. I am really excited for this game. We have waqtched all the other games on TV. The whole country stops to watch these games and Honduras actually has a chance to qualify. I think this game might make up for missing a few CU games this year. I already bought a David Suazo Honduras jersey. He is their best player, but he is injured. He plays for Benefica in Portugal. The game is Saturday night in San Pedro so we are going to go up Saturday and stay in a hostel that night. I can't wait. It is another three day weekend so we are going to Tela for a night on Sunday. Tela is about one and a half hours away.

Last weekend when we had a three day weekend the day off for the holiday was supposed to be Friday. Apparently in Honduras the government can just change this if they want and we found out last Tuesday that our day off would be Monday instead. I guess you cant really make plans here. Also this week we have a day off on Monday, and there were rumors that the government was going to just get rid of this holiday. Luckily, I dont think this is happening.

Everything else is going well. My classes are good. It has started raining almost every night here, and the weather is a little cooler so that is nice.

I hope everything is going well back in Colorado and everywhere else that people are. I was actually able to watch the CU-FSU game since we get Wyoming ABC for some weird reason. Too bad we lost. At least the Dolphins are alright this year and the Rays are in the ALCS. I hope they destroy Boston.

Keep posting comments and sending emails with questions and tell me what is going on with all of you. If anyone wants to come down for Christmas break, I am planning on traveling around a little. Let me know.

Farley



Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0806s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb