THEM!


Advertisement
Published: May 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

THEMTHEMTHEM

The floor was covered with these guys.
After a great weekend with the Mrs. I returned to the old routine. When I got to school on Monday I was greeted by one of the women who cleans my classroom at the end of the day. We have a few kitchen staff and they also open the rooms and clean up after the kids. Well her first words to me were, "Your room is full of bees."

You can imagine what I thought when I heard that. I had images of nests being built and swarms of hornets flying in and around the books. I am known to tell some of the worst jokes at El Alba and the idea of bees in an English room made my day. "They must be spelling bees!" I said... classic. After a while we realized the bees were huge flying ants. This gave way to a whole new set of tacky jokes. "They chose my room because it's so sweet." Hey-oh!

So, since the ants had taken over the room we couldn't have classes inside. It was nice to have class outside, but we didn't get much done due to the fact that the books were all inside. A few
Nasty BuggersNasty BuggersNasty Buggers

They looked really evil
of the ants had made it outside and fell victim to a couple mad scientist 2nd graders. Wings were pulled off and heads were smashed under the heel of black dress shoes. A few even had the privilege of being thrown in the faces of 3rd grade girls. One lucky guy was taken into kindergarten and spent the last hour of his life trying to walk off a table. His feeble attempts at a quick and painless death were thwarted by a boy who repeatedly would pick him up and put him back in the center of the table.

I think the chemicals we sprayed in the room had a pretty strong effect on them, because the escapees weren't biting anybody. I waited for a scream to burst out from one of the crowds of kids huddled around a squirming ant... but no such luck. These kids never get to learn their lesson. At the end of the day I swept up the mess and gave the dead a proper burial. We had a 7th grader say some words, I took a few photos of the room and then called it a day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

New FriendNew Friend
New Friend

This guy was an honorary student in kindergarten for the day.
BattlefieldBattlefield
Battlefield

The aftermath


26th May 2009

¿Cómo se dice "bee" en español?
¿Y cómo se dice "flying ant" en español?
26th May 2009

Spanish lesson
Well... Bee is "abeja' and ant is "hormiga"... I guess "hormiga volando" would be a flying ant
28th May 2009

With the MRS. ???????? (did we miss something?)

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0193s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb