Front Page


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Central » Comayagua
November 5th 2008
Published: November 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

"Tiempo""Tiempo""Tiempo"

Nohelia displays a new look for Hidemi
This morning, on my walk to school, I couldn't help but notice that Barak Obama was voted into office last night. This is because it was on the front page of every Honduran newspaper I could find. It was interesting to see all the different headlines. The really funny thing, for me at least, was to see the news call someone a negro. In Honduras most people refer to African Americans as "negros" or "personas negros." Its not a racist thing, the word "negro" in Spanish means black. So when the newspaper types "los negros" they are literally saying "the blacks."

So much for candy coated euphemisms, eh?

I find that gringos tend to use the term Afro Americanos. We aren't able use the word negro when describing our new president, I can't quite put my finger on it, but something just doesn't feel right. Most of the articles, in the news today, were full of American politics and my day was filled with questions about the election as well. No one seemed to be that interested before elections, but today when they saw my corn fed white boy smile they must have remembered.

"Are you happy about
"Diez""Diez""Diez"

Obamanation
Obama?" People asked.

"I don't know yet, I'll let you know when I see what kind of a job he does." was my standard answer.

Last night Josh and I watched live coverage of the elections on CNN, CNBC, and a few other Spanish channels. It was pretty cool. I enjoyed being able to have a little piece of American media hype, it spiced up my slow paced Honduran lifestyle.

Everybody was making predictions, people were giving statistics and tickers were speeding along the bottom of every newscast. I was especially impressed with the new touch screens in the CNN studio! Did you guys see that thing? It was huge! If the "election weather man" touched a state once it would go Republican and if he double tapped it then it would turn Democrat. If only campaigning was that easy, Ralph Nader would be triple tapping his way across the country.

While channel surfing between the four or five stations Josh and I stumbled on ESPN Espanol and wouldn't you know it, the UB Bulls were playing Miami University. It was a live broadcast on ESPN and the commentators were Spanish. Not only were the Bulls
"El Heraldo""El Heraldo""El Heraldo"

Front page news in every Honduran paper.
ahead, 40 to 17 late in the 4th quarter, but it was a home game to boot. In between the commentators babbling about how footballs used to be the size of a small watermelon or a large mango, I could here chants of "Lets go Buffalo!" and ,"Comon UB, Youz guys are da greatest!" I guess there were a few Cheektowaga fans.

It was something really special. Even though I couldn't physically care less about UB football, I was absolutely glued to the TV. Josh and I watched the last quarter and then it was back to elections. So I ended up getting a double whammy of down home flavor last night and today my stomach still feels full.

It is either all that taste of America or the lunch we had today, steak "nublets" served with rice, beans and fried sweet bananas. Mmmmm good! I was dying to get my hands on a fresh plate of that stuff. After English class with the 7th graders, we all shuffled down to the cafe to scramble into what resembles a group but is refereed to as a line.

Each student, crumpled Lempiras in hand, smathers them self to
Mr.JoshMr.JoshMr.Josh

Mr.Josh poses next to Nour, 9th grade, to demonstrate the vast difference in height.
the front of the line in hopes of the same exact thing everybody else is getting... but sooner! I don't understand why they freak out so much, they act like little piggies. Thank God they don't eat like pigs.

Once they get their food they prance away into their preferred corner to gobble up their treasure. Often durring recess you can hear Dennis, a short and stumpy 7th grader, screaming to himself, "Dos baleadas! Do- dos baleadas!" I would say he has a problem, for no food deserves this degree of lucid insanity. However, I have tasted the school's baleadas and they do indeed warrant a great echelon of obsession.

So that's the news from Comayagua, where the men are handsome, the women are strong and the students are all intelligent. Stay tuned for further updates. God Bless!






Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Line em up!Line em up!
Line em up!

This is the lunch line.
LunchLunch
Lunch

One of Josh's students gets her lunch.
Chum LineChum Line
Chum Line

Miss Maryvela handing out soda, food and change.
Mr.JuanMr.Juan
Mr.Juan

Juan and Josh chillin in the chum line.
Killing TimeKilling Time
Killing Time

8th graders relaxing before class starts up.
JorgeJorge
Jorge

Relaxing during English class.


6th November 2008

Citizenship
Clint - Send me a Honduran citizenship form - make that 2...........
6th November 2008

The world is waking up
No one in Honduras cared before because they assumed McCain would win, and it would be U.S. policies as usual. But adding a face that looks totally different from the others on the presidential portrait chart gets attention. If you haven't seen world news lately, other countries are widely impressed with our capacity to elect a minority leader, and the fact that we have a leader of such calibur as a minority in the first place. They are commending Americans for a "brave act."
6th November 2008

Loved your Article
I had the opportunity to go to Nicaragua two months ago and would love to visit Honduras as well. Do you have a recommendation for a school or orphanage to visit in hopes of us coming and bringing our 2 boys (13 and 15) who have never been to see a third world country.My husband is a Christian Artist and plays music and ministers through song. But I really have a heart to travel and visit countrys in need of volunteers. We just want to serve. Let me know maybe where you are is a good start! Janet
6th November 2008

Volunteers
El Alba is a great place to volunteer. Our school very small and most the staff is Christian, Catholic of Jehovah's Witness. If you want more info on the school check out my blog "El Alba."
7th November 2008

spicey????? hot chocolate
That just seems so wrong! No one should ever put any spices in hot chocolate! (but let me know if it's any good should you have the chance to try it). Nice job Tio Tom! There's nothing better than a properly spelled whoa. And to the Maine-iacs: what - Maine isn't far enough away? Now you want to move to Honduras?!!
7th November 2008

PC (and I'm not talking "Personal Computer)
It used to be (as recently as the early 70's) Politically Correct in the US to refer to African Americans as "negros." Even now, it still doesn't have anywhere near the level of taboo as the talisman "nigger." *** All that aside, I think Obama might turn out to be an OK president. I have a hunch he might shine in the foreign policy dept. I'm optimistically looking forward to seeing what happens. *** My $.02 Tio

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb