Exams and football


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Central » Comayagua
October 27th 2008
Published: October 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Pay DayPay DayPay Day

I treated myself with some club soda and cranberry juice.
This week we are continuing last weeks exams. We spent the majority of last week on RED ALERT so that meant we only had two days of exams. Monday, Tuesday and Friday were spent watching movies and playing video games. The good news is that we all got paid on Wednesday. So I filled my fridge with all sorts of tasty treats. Cranberry juice, club soda, flour tortillas, beans, pepper jack cheese, green peppers, fresh milk, and chocolate. I think I covered all the bases.

On Thursday a few of my 10th and 11th graders had a football game. El Alba technically doesn't have a team, however the 11th grade boys do belong to a league and their team name is El Alba... so we almost have a team. The way it was described to me was, the team is not of El Alba... it's just from El Alba and it's called El Alba.

Well that makes sense. Right?

The guys played pretty well last week and they ended up winning the game. The score was 14 El Alba, 12 Other guys. The field is very small and its enclosed in a cage. This is a really popular
Before the gameBefore the gameBefore the game

Lenin, in red, is a the high school math and physics teacher.
way to play soccer here. It was similar to box lacrosse. The field is sponsored by Lafarge cement as is most things in Comayagua. Our official football team, The Donkeys, is sponsored by Lafarge also.

Our team's real name is Hispana, but they are also called the Donkeys (Los Burros) Their colors are yellow and black. I have two students who play for the team, professionally. Louis and Hidemi are on what is called the first team. They get a paycheck and everything, I have a feeling that they make more money than I do.

Anywho, this entry is more of a photo blog than anything else. I'm fairly confident that we all know how soccer is played... so lets just enjoy the photos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

SponsersSponsers
Sponsers

Lafarge owns the field.
#7#7
#7

One of my 10th graders, donning number 7.
WhistleWhistle
Whistle

Down time between whistles.
Goalie and ForwardGoalie and Forward
Goalie and Forward

Our goalie, Julio, wearing white and our forward, Hidemi, wearing his jersey.
LouisLouis
Louis

Louis is a pretty level headed player.
Shot on goalShot on goal
Shot on goal

Louis takes a shot on goal.
Hidemi and LouisHidemi and Louis
Hidemi and Louis

Hidemi is not a very level headed player.
Moving The BallMoving The Ball
Moving The Ball

Moving the ball down the field.
FootworkFootwork
Footwork

Kenton, one of my 11th graders, fights for the ball.
OuchOuch
Ouch

Kenton bracing himself before he gets hit by the ball.
Down TimeDown Time
Down Time

Christian and Kenton relaxing between whistles.


29th October 2008

Hmmm . . .
Looks like football and exams don't inspire as many comments as donuts, concrete or love. Slainte! Tio
29th October 2008

Comments
Tell me about it. I love to read all your comments, but the message board is starting to resemble my classes. The same five people keep posting; lets get some diversity here, readers. I'll even take requests for my next blog.

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb