Oh, I can't talk in class?


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Central » Comayagua
September 5th 2008
Published: September 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

BatonsBatonsBatons

To truly master the baton you must have it with you everywhere, especially class.
This week I have introduced the double warning policy. When students disrupt class they are given a warning. I write their names on the board and next to the names a write a number. Each student gets two warnings and when they work their number up to three they must leave the classroom. Sometimes the class will cheer for certain students to get a number like its a game.

So when Carmen leaves her seat, during reading class, to punch David in the arm she receives one warning. Her name goes on the board with the number one next to it. At this the class will usually make some sort of noise as if it were game seven and Derek Roy was on a breakaway. The offending student will then turn to her classmates with a barrage of Spanglish death threats.

Then, three minutes later, when Carmen interrupts Josue by declaring, "Meester, I want to read!" You guessed it - Her number one becomes a number two. The change from number one to number two is a big deal. By now the students realize that one more strike and Carmen is out. Their all friends, but they love seeing
Sound of silenceSound of silenceSound of silence

The students are planning on adding a few new songs to the repertoire, but Simon and Garfunkle will do just fine for now.
each other get kicked out.

With her fresh #2 on the board Carmen will look at me as if to say, "Oh, you didn't want me to talk in class... I thought you fahgaht!" (Carmen has a New England accent) In most my classes I get about seven names on the board. Students here are all very disruptive and extremely boisterous. Most kids only get ones but a few work their way up to twos. Usually they quiet down at that point.

I don't do this to be cruel, I just want them to shut up. They think they can do whatever they want in their classes and the administration told me that my game... err... method was appropriate.

On a lighter note, we are preparing for Independence day. The students are practicing every day after school. They will be marching, playing drums and spinning batons. They also practice during classes. Independence day is such a high priority that it takes presidency over everything. Today I only had four eleventh graders in my English class. So we just talked about our creative writing projects and watched the practice.

This was fine with me, because directly outside
Mike and JohnMike and JohnMike and John

Two of my 11th grade students warming up.
my class I had a forty member marching band playing a jazzed up version of "The sound of silence." So class wasn't going to happen no mater how hard I tried. The administration told me to just talk with the students in English when this happens; I'm not expected to teach during these periods. Good times.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Keepin timeKeepin time
Keepin time

The girls practicing their steps.
DrumsDrums
Drums

So many drums... so much time...


5th September 2008

What's this then? You mean no one is CONSTANTLY interrupting you with cell phones ringing while you are trying to teach...that's outrageous!
5th September 2008

I would probably get three strikes...
Let's be serious--sometimes you just can't help talking in class/punching someone in the arm--maybe Carmen is just practicing to be the next ROY--can't blame her for that--ROY is pretty awesomme!!!! haha!! MISS YOU CLINT!! but seriously I WISH I COULD BE IN YOUR CLASS even though I am sure I would be asked to leave for being obnoxious/chatting too much...at least my fellow classmates would cheer for me when you threw me out!! haha!! much love, <3 ps simon and garfunkel for INDEPENDENCE DAY = perrrfecttt!! i love it!! maybe suggest to them adding bridge over troubled water to their playlist?? haha.
5th September 2008

You tell em. Mr. Holmes don take no crap. And, Ramon still ain no beach...

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0534s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb