A Tough Decision


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Central » Comayagua
December 30th 2006
Published: December 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Almost all of my entries have been positive and up beat, so I apologize in advance for this one. I was very sad about leaving Honduras and no matter how I tried, I couldn't put a spin on it.

I had planned to stay in Honduras for a couple years, if not more. And I've never been a person to walk away from a job, especially one I love. Unfortunately, however, with distance during family illnesses, personal safety concerns and dealing with a school administration that does not value their teachers or students, I had to reconsider where I was needed most. I know it was one of the most difficult decisions made during my relatively short life thus far. Ultimately, I was offered a job working with working with children and families back in the states, where I could be closer to my grandparents, whose health conditions at the time were pretty precarious. After weeks of agonizing over what decision to make, I decided it would be best to return to the states and be with my family.

In hindsight though, it was the right decision and I definitely made the most out of the time I was there, especially in my job. I had a blast the last month I was there working with the fifth graders. It is amazing at that age how much they grow up in just a few months. For the fifth grade, section A kids...hmmm...young adults who are reading this now, I am very proud of all of you! Thanks for teaching me so much about being a teacher. You were my favorite part of Honduras!

For anyone else reading this....I will let the pictures tell the story of the last few weeks I was there.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

The Guapos!The Guapos!
The Guapos!

Oh dear...this is a self proclaimed name, by the way.
Told You!Told You!
Told You!

They love to dance!
Trip to WendysTrip to Wendys
Trip to Wendys

I would say this might be unsafe, but it was a parent that was driving the truck.
Group WorkGroup Work
Group Work

Brilliant minds at work!
The FutureThe Future
The Future

Don't be scared...They're all very bright...crazy...but amazing kids.
Our Loving 5A FamilyOur Loving 5A Family
Our Loving 5A Family

(It was staged...not real, don't worry)
Class CheerClass Cheer
Class Cheer

The best way to begin and end the class meeting!
In Our Seats?! That's Craziness!In Our Seats?! That's Craziness!
In Our Seats?! That's Craziness!

I actually think this might have been a science test. That would explain it.
Third?Third?
Third?

I've been like a 2nd mother to a lot of kids, but never a third. This guy must be really loved :)


23rd August 2008

awwww....e
Awww...old times I really miss!!! Oh I look soooo young!!!

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 8; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb