Still sweating...


Advertisement
Published: July 9th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So the heat continues to blaze over Haiti on this summer Wednesday afternoon.

We practically didn't have power all day hence why I am just writing. Since yesterday was left off with my call for coffee, shortly after we tried the best coffee I have ever had in my entire life. I am making sure it is the first thing I purchase to bring back to the states (it's heavenly). I also have found the best running route with a view to die for. Waking up at 6:45am to run almost seems easy because the view I get to experience looking at the mountains in the distance is incredible. Casually I run by every farm animal there is (horses, cows, pigs and chickens). The shower is still brutal and so are the roosters constantly making noise no matter what hour of the day it is. Yesterday we spent a big chunk of the day communicating and helping a few Haitians improve with their English. It's really interesting to see how passionate they are to learn another language such as English and how amused they are with our culture back in the states. I am getting a slow overdose of fried food, probably the most I have ever eaten in my entire life (missing something green right about now). HAC is a host to 3 cats who of course, have gained a lot of attention from me. The smallest kitten named Tichat (means little cat in Creole) is so cute but a pain in the ass. Every time we sit down to eat he jumps on you or meows in your face until you feed him food. The Haitians don't really believe in feeding pets so obviously I sneak food under the table. Haitians love the World Cup and when it's game time, everyone is watching. We went to a Haitian bar yesterday called "Optimum" which streams the game on television in Creole. Even though I didn't understand one word the announcer was saying, I still watched Brazil get their ass kicked by Germany (unfortunately everyone in Haiti was upset about the loss). Tried my first Haitian beer as well (called Prestige) and it only cost me $1. Tell me where you can find that deal in the states? Eh you can't. Most of my free time before we start working on Friday has been spent sleeping or reading especially because the power is almost always out. The struggle to not sweat is real.



Mosquito count: 2

Spider found in bed count: 1



I'll dream of my cold pool later tonight.

Miss you all,

Sarbar

Advertisement



10th July 2014

Was there mosquitos in your bed or did your get
10th July 2014

Coffee time
Do they grow the beans in Haiti?) Another good day

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb