June 16 - Updates


Advertisement
Published: June 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Cindi and familyCindi and familyCindi and family

Father, Cindi, me, and Rony
This will be an entry with some updates for you.

I have been asked about the young girl mentioned earlier (as one of my ESC opportunities), who was hospitalized. Her brother has been in touch with me several times and I have asked his permission to write about them in this blog and he has granted it. The brother's name is Rony and before the quake he was working as a teacher in a small private school, earning the princely sum of $25 a month; the father earned some doing small labor jobs, the mother was deceased. Cindi is 16 years old and has dreams of finishing school and working with computers (although now the family can not afford school fees). They live in a tent, having lost everything in the quake, including the small apartment where they lived.

Cindi was in the hospital for 4 days, iv's, tests and x-rays. She had prescriptions for medications filled. According to Rony, she is much better, able to eat and keep it down, and slowly regaining strength. The day we took her to the hospital, I asked the family if we could take a picture so I could see them when I offer prayers for them. Rony was in the office yesterday to bring me a small gift of appreciation. With Rony's permission, I am adding this picture to this entry, so that you can see them as well. It's always good to put a human face on a story. You will notice how very thin and frail Cindi was, she had been ill for some time. When you have a moment, please offer up a prayer for them. Daily survival is a struggle for so many here....


For my cousin Jim (retired NYSEG) who has asked about the lighting project at the camp - HOORAY! The project is finally completed and the lights are providing extra light and safety for the camp. I'm sure it would have happened much sooner if YOU had been here...it's the "H factor" again. However, it is at last completed.


Drainage project. I think I mentioned this project to improve drainage around the camp area. We have been waiting for the funds to be released to hire this work done and that has finally happened! This project is so necessary to make life a little easier in the camp. Rain occurs daily (with large thunderstorms nightly) which adds to to the misery of life in the camp.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.099s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb